by Lisa OnoLisa Ono


$31.45 $32.99 Save 5% Current price is $31.45, Original price is $32.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Lisa Ono is truly an anomaly on the bossa nova scene. She is Japanese, though she was born in Brazil and raised there until she was ten. In addition, her father was Baden Powell's manager. When her family returned to Japan, her father owned a nightclub that hosted all of the traveling Brazilian musical emissaries, who taught her the repertory. But that was long ago. This 1994 release offers Ono in a new bossa setting that she makes her own. Her material is exceptional, made more so by her lilting, unmistakable voice. She is joined here by some top Brazilian session musicians, including Zeca Assumpcao, Cristovao Bastos, Paulo Moura, Danilo Caymmi, and Tom Jobim. The company she keeps is due to the quality of the material she performs and her manner of delivery: over half the material here is of her own design and origin. Elsewhere she performs the work of Jobim on "Estrada Branca," Jose Paulo Aouila on "A Gafiera," and the team of Angela Suarez and Paulo Pinheiro on "O Que É Que O Samba Tem." Ono's own "Bolero Cançao" and "Praia Nova" are also standout cuts. But perhaps the most beautiful track on this set is the opener, the collaboration between Ono and Paulo Cesar Pinheiro, "Samba de Enredo," with her staggering guitar work underlying a simmering rhythm. This samba twists and turns around the vocal rather than vice versa, and offers the listener a series of vocal and instrumental acrobatics. This is as fine a new bossa record as there is -- head and shoulders above most. Ono is a treasure both in Japan and Brazil.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/24/2000
Label: Tombstone Records
UPC: 4988017095355
catalogNumber: 37060
Rank: 123882


  1. Samba de Enredo
  2. Temporal Um Persqueira
  3. Um Abraço No João
  4. Meu Carnaval
  5. Estrada Branca
  6. A Gafieira
  7. Brincadeira de Roda
  8. O Carnaval Do Macaco
  9. Praia Nova
  10. O Que É Que O Samba Tem
  11. Bolero Cancão
  12. Um Beija-Flor
  13. Samba da Esperança

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lisa Ono   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar
Raul de Souza   Trombone
Hiroshi Fukumura   Trombone
Paulo Moura   Clarinet
Sivuca   Accordion
Altamiro Carrilho   Flute
Zeca Assumpção   Acoustic Bass
Cristóvão Bastos   Piano,Keyboards
Danilo Caymmi   Flute,Vocals
Ronaldo Correa   Background Vocals
Wilson DasNeves   Drums
Gordinho   Percussion
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Piano,Vocals
Paulo Jobim   Acoustic Guitar
Claudio Jorge   Acoustic Guitar
Alceu Maia   Cavaquinho
Jota Moraes   Piano,Keyboards,Vibes
Ovidio   Percussion
Gilson Peranzzetta   Piano,Keyboards
Marco Pereira   Acoustic Guitar
Pirulito   Percussion
Ronaldo   Background Vocals
Mauro Senise   Flute,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone
Marcos Suzano   Percussion
Luciana Rabello   Cavaquinho
Jurim Moreira   Drums
Mauricio Carrilho   Acoustic Guitar
Kazuo Yoshida   Percussion
Tutty Moreno   Percussion
Adriano Giffoni   Acoustic Bass
Paulo Guimarães   Flute,Piccolo
Celso Porta Woltzenlogel   Flute
Mario Adnet   Acoustic Guitar
Ines   Background Vocals
Joana ?   Background Vocals
Vittor Santos   Trombone
Marcio Lott   Background Vocals
Macaé   Tenor Saxophone
Zenio   Tuba
Gegê   Drums
Felipe de Angola   Percussion

Technical Credits

Cristóvão Bastos   Arranger
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Arranger
Jota Moraes   Arranger
Gilson Peranzzetta   Arranger
Mauricio Carrilho   Arranger
Mario Adnet   Arranger

Customer Reviews