Essential Hank Williams: Hillbilly Legend

Essential Hank Williams: Hillbilly Legend

by Hank Williams


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Essential Hank Williams: Hillbilly Legend

More than a half-century after his death at the age of 29, the music that Hank Williams almost single-handedly put on the map -- country -- is a glittery affair and a multi-billion dollar industry. Ol' Hank probably wouldn't even recognize most of today's Nashville hitmakers as country, and any one of them who -- unimaginable though it may be -- doesn't know him would find The Essential Hank Williams: Hillbilly Legend as good a place as any to start the appreciation, as this double-disc anthology from the U.K. more than lives up to its title. There is no dearth of Williams collections on the market: in the U.S. Mercury's The Ultimate Collection and the earlier 40 Greatest Hits both offer roughly the same repertoire that The Essential Hank Williams: Hillbilly Legend does, starting with every Top Ten hit of significance (most of them occupying disc one). But the British set tosses in some extras, bringing the track count up to 52, more than either of the above-named sets. Instead of running in strict chronological order, each disc begins with recordings cut in 1947, then weaves forward and backward in time. That may not be a historically accurate representation of Williams' output but it's not a problem; the two halves each flow superbly. For the completists there are, of course, box sets of varying girth, and for the fan with more casual interest there are excellent single-disc best-ofs, but The Essential Hank Williams

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/2003
Label: Imports
UPC: 0698458701923
catalogNumber: 1206232


Disc 1

  1. Move it on Over
  2. Honky Tonkin'
  3. Lovesick Blues
  4. Wedding Bells
  5. Lost Highway
  6. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  7. Long Gone, Lonesome Blues
  8. Why Don't You Love Me?
  9. Moanin' the Blues
  10. Cold, Cold Heart
  11. Mind Your Own Business
  12. You're Gonna Change, or I'm Gonna Leave
  13. I Can't Help it (if I'm Still in Love With You)
  14. A Mansion on the Hill
  15. I Just Don't Like This Kind of Livin'
  16. My Son Calls Another Man Daddy
  17. Window Shopping
  18. Settin' the Woods on Fire
  19. Hey, Good Lookin'
  20. Howlin' at the Moon
  21. Jambalaya (on the Bayou)
  22. I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive
  23. Your cheatin' Heart
  24. Kaw-Liga
  25. Take These Chains From My Heart

Disc 2

  1. I Saw the Light
  2. I'm Satisfied With You
  3. Rootie Tootie
  4. I can't Get You Off of My Mind
  5. I'm a Long Gone Daddy
  6. The Blues Come Around
  7. I'll Be a Bachelor 'Til I Die
  8. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  9. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  10. Dear John
  11. Never Again Will I Knock On Your Door
  12. Pan American
  13. Last Night I Heard You Crying in Your Sleep
  14. Fly Trouble
  15. My Sweet Love Ain't Arond
  16. There'll Be No Teardrops Tonight
  17. Why Should We Try Anymore?
  18. I Heard That Lonesome Whistle
  19. I'd Still Want You
  20. Crazy Heart
  21. Baby, We're Really in Love
  22. Half as Much
  23. Honky Tonk Blues
  24. I Won't Be Home No More
  25. You Win Again
  26. Weary Blues From Waitin'
  27. Please Don't Let Me Love You

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews