Essential Noize: The Very Best of Motorhead

Essential Noize: The Very Best of Motorhead

by Motörhead


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Essential Noize: The Very Best of Motorhead

Out of all the zillions of Motörhead compilations released over the years, 2005's Essential Noize: The Very Best Of may just be the best one yet. And the reason is quite simple -- it covers the best tracks from 1978 through 1984, which just about every single Motörhead fan agrees is their strongest period. At the time this material first arrived, many rock fans and metal heads were left scratching their heads in bewilderment, as few groups managed to combine the energy of punk with the power of metal as Lemmy and company did. By the early 21st century, it became quite clear that Motörhead were bona fide trailblazers, influencing countless bands (Metallica, Soundgarden, etc.) and singlehandedly inventing thrash metal. All you need is Essential Noize for the proof. The late '70s/early '80s saw most rock bands embrace pristine production, while Motörhead went in the complete opposite direction, as evidenced by such raw and rocking delights as "Overkill," "No Class," "Bomber," "(We Are) The Road Crew," and of course, the greatest Motörhead song of them all, "Ace of Spades." Also included are a few post-Fast Eddie Clarke tracks -- "Shine" (which saw Thin Lizzy's Brian Robertson briefly sign on) and "Killed by Death" (which saw Motörhead expand to a quartet). Some of the finest hard rock/heavy metal ever recorded can be found here. A must-have if you don't already own such classics as Overkill, Ace of Spades, etc. Crank it loud!

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Metro Music
UPC: 0698458115829
catalogNumber: 158

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Motörhead   Primary Artist
"Fast" Eddie Clarke   Guitar,Vocals
Denise Dufort   Drums
Peter Gill   Drums
Kelly Johnson   Guitar
Kim McAuliffe   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Brian Robertson   Guitar
Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor   Drums
Enid Williams   Bass
Würzel   Guitar
Phil Campbell   Guitar
Lemmy Kilmister   Bass,Vocals

Technical Credits

Steve Taylor   Composer
"Fast" Eddie Clarke   Composer
Lemmy   Composer
Brian Robertson   Composer
Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor   Composer
Michael Burston   Composer
Heath Robinson   Composer
Mark Crampton   Sleeve Notes
Lemmy Kilmister   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews