¡Está Bueno!

¡Está Bueno!

by Texas Tornados

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


¡Está Bueno!

The Texas Tornados quietly folded in the wake of the death of Doug Sahm in 1999, but roughly a decade later they just as quietly became a going concern under the direction of his son Shawn, reuniting for regular gigs and a new album called ¡Esta Bueno!. Released in March of 2010 (alongside the publication of the first-ever Doug Sahm biography entitled -- what else -- Texas Tornado), ¡Esta Bueno! revives a couple of Sir Doug staples ("Chicano" and Bobby Charles' "Tennessee Blues"), and also several unreleased performances from the other departed Tornado, Freddy Fender -- a whopping five, including a handful of new songs, their presence giving ¡Esta Bueno! an even stronger feel of a classic Texas Tornados album. And that's the entire intent of ¡Esta Bueno!: this is designed as a continuation, not a revival, of the band's signature Tex-Mex style, and since Shawn Sahm, Augie Meyers, and Flaco Jimenez are old road dogs, they miss not a step when they fall back into their old groove. Like much roots rock made since the Tornados' 1990 debut, ¡Esta Bueno! is a shade too clean in its production -- it could use just a bit of grit in its sound -- but it's hard to complain too much because the spirit of the record is so joyous, it's hard not to smile as it plays.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/02/2010
Label: Bismeaux Productions
UPC: 0678572965524
catalogNumber: 1290

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Texas Tornados   Primary Artist
Augie Meyers   Piano,Vocals,Vox Organ
Ernie Durawa   Drums
Freddy Fender   Vocals
Flaco Jiménez   Accordion,Vocals
Louie Ortega   Guitar,Background Vocals
George Rains   Drums
Shawn Sahm   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Speedy Sparks   Bass
Neal Walker   Bass,Background Vocals
Gomez   Horn
Spot Barnett   Horn
Louie Bustos   Horn
Westside Horns   Horn
Nunni Rubio   Background Vocals
Michael Guerra   Bajo Sexto

Technical Credits

Doug Sahm   Composer
Bobby Charles   Composer
Augie Meyers   Composer
Ray Benson   Executive Producer,Art Direction
Freddy Fender   Composer
Louie Ortega   Composer
Shawn Sahm   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Ralph Siegel   Composer
Stuart Sullivan   Engineer
Dick Reeves   Art Direction
Ernst Neubach   Composer
Federico Archuleta   Cover Art
Wade Parker   Engineer
Sam "Lightning" Seifert   Engineer
Rick Hunter   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews