by Elena UriosteElena Urioste

SACD(Super Audio CD - SACD Hybrid)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


The graphics for this BIS release by American violinist Elena Urioste and British pianist Tom Poster strongly suggest that their partnership is personal as well as musical. And indeed the pair, who met as BBC Young Artists, have a rapport in these romantic (as well as Romantic) little pieces, many of them arranged years ago as encores or intermezzi by the likes of Jascha Heifetz, Leopold Auer, or Nathan Milstein. The players bring a level of focus that keeps the program going through fairly homogeneous material: the tempo doesn't vary from moderate, and the mood is lush. The program leads off with a composition by Fritz Kreisler and an arrangement by him of one of Dvorák's "Songs My Mother Taught Me," and Urioste is a Kreisler kind of violinist: not brilliant, but with an appealing rich tone in her middle register that grabs your attention and holds it. The pair mostly offer pieces that would have been part of the violinist's practice book a century ago but were pushed out by modernism. They also play a few comparative rarities that are quite lovely; these include William Grant Still's "Mother and Child," and Maria Theresia von Paradis' "Sicilienne," the latter arranged by Samuel Dushkin. Sample that for an idea of Urioste's style and also for the sound, a rare misstep by BIS engineers: in an attempt to heighten the intimate atmosphere, one imagines, they move in too close and pick up extraneous instrument noise. These pieces were meant for big auditoriums. A positive feature is the extension of the repertory into American popular music by Gershwin, Arlen, Victor Young, and Henry Mancini, all in arrangements by Poster; there is no reason to believe that Heifetz and the others would have objected to this. Likely destined to become a popular Valentine's gift for several seasons.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/2018
Label: Bis
UPC: 7318599924281
catalogNumber: 2428
Rank: 15622


  1. Preghiera, for violin & piano (after 2nd movement of Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 2)
  2. Songs my mother taught me (Als die alte Mutter), song for voice & piano (Gypsy Melodies), B. 104/4 (Op. 55/4)
  3. Consolation, for piano No. 3 in D flat major "Lento placido", S. 172/3 (LW A111a/2/2)
  4. Estrellita, for guitar
  5. Caprice Viennois, for violin & piano (or orchestra), Op. 2
  6. Hebrew Melody for violin & orchestra, Op.33
  7. Sicilienne for keyboard in E flat major
  8. Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Melody), arrangement (from "Orfeo ed Euridice")
  9. Beau soir ("Lorsque au soleil couchant les rivières sont roses"), song for voice & piano, L. 84 (6)
  10. Sea-Shell for violin & piano
  11. Pieces (2) ("Chanson de matin" & "Chanson de nuit"), for violin & piano (later orchestrated), Op. 15: Chanson de Nuit

    1. Chanson de Nuit
  12. Midnight Bells, transcription for violin and piano (after Richard Heuberger)
  13. Suite for Violin and Piano: Mother and Child

    1. Mother and Child
  14. Salut d'amour, for violin & piano, Op. 12
  15. Suite Populaire Espagnole, for violin & piano (arr. from "Popular Spanish Songs" by Kochanski): Asturiana

    1. Asturiana
  16. Porgy and Bess, opera: My Man's Gone Now

    1. My Man's Gone Now
  17. Moon River (for the film Breakfast at Tiffany's)
  18. When I Fall in Love, song
  19. Somewhere Over the Rainbow (for the film The Wizard of Oz)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews