Euripides Plays: 4: Elektra, Orestes, and Iphigeneia in Tauris

Euripides Plays: 4: Elektra, Orestes, and Iphigeneia in Tauris


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Euripides Plays: 4: Elektra, Orestes, and Iphigeneia in Tauris by Euripides

"Euripides, the Athenian playwright who dared to question the whims of wanton gods, has always been the most intriguing of the Greek tragedians. Now, with translations aimed at the stage rather than the page, his restless intellect strikes the chord

This volume contains some of Euripides' most famous works: Elektra, which reverses previous notions of 'heroic' behaviour; Orestes, in which almost all the characters are driven by base motives of cowardice or revenge; Iphigeneia in Tauris who presumes her brother Orestes dead and her mother Klytemnestra and stepfather Aigisthos still living, is visited by a surprise guest.

Elektra, Oresetes and Iphigeneia in Tauris were performed together as Agamemnon's children at The Gate Theatre in 1995 and show the consequences of Agamemnon's "sacrifice" of his daughter at the start of the Trojan war.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780413716309
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Publication date: 07/01/2003
Series: Classical Dramatists Series
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.52(d)

About the Author

Euripides was born near Athens circa 480 BC and grew up during the years of the Athenian recovery after the Persian Wars. His first play was presented in 455 BC and he wrote some hundred altogether of which nineteen survived. He died in 406 BC at the court of the King of Macedon.

Table of Contents

Elektra; Orestes and Iphigeneia in Tauris

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews