Eva! Leyenda Peruana

Eva! Leyenda Peruana

by Eva Ayllón


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Eva! Leyenda Peruana

Eva Ayllón has been a marquee name in her native Peru since the 1970s, and this long-awaited introduction to the American market shows exactly why. Allyón brings a potent voice and a passionate attachment to the Afro-Peruvian repertoire. Her jazz-inflected vocals complement a band that plays all around the 6/8 rhythms, with a breathy tear that perfectly communicates the dark origins of the material, most of it born of bitter slavery and racist oppression. Ayllón is also a riveting performer, and brings that stadium-sized emotion to the studio. The uptempo festejos, including the classic "Ingá," also known as "Enciendete candela" are delivered as show-stoppers, even if they only open the album. Fans of Afro-Peruvian music will note that Ayllón presents five valses, a South American variant of the waltz that has little do with the Viennese version beyond its 3/4 time, which is a staple of typical Peruvian show bands. Joining Ayllón are all-stars including the percussionist Rony Campos, who leads the dance ensemble Peru Negro; jazz drummer Alex Acuña, and Los Angeles jazzer Justo Almario, who contributes flute to the landó "La danza clara."

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/2004
Label: Times Square Records
UPC: 0738572904029
catalogNumber: 9040


  1. Negra presentuosa
  2. Ingá
  3. Para que
  4. La danza clara
  5. Raices del festejo / Le dije a Papá
  6. La herida oscura
  7. Cuando llora mi guitarra
  8. Cardo o ceniza
  9. Jolgorio de Eva
  10. Siempre te amaré
  11. Contigo y sin ti
  12. Dolor y odio
  13. Cuando llegue la hora
  14. Que somos amantes

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eva Ayllón   Primary Artist
Justo Almario   Flute,Guest Appearance
Gilberto Santa Rosa   Background Vocals
Alex Acuña   Percussion,Drums,Cajon
Sammy Garcia   Conga,Cuira
Gary Herbig   Oboe
Abraham Laboriel   Electric Bass
José Lugo   Piano
Ricardo "Tiki" Pasillas   Chekere,Guest Appearance
Piro Rodriguez   Trumpet,Soloist
Harry Scorzo   Violin
Ramon Stagnaro   Acoustic Guitar
Johnny Torres   Bass
Socky Torres   Background Vocals
Richie Bastar   Bongos
Jorge Diaz   Trombone
Jan Duclerc   Trumpet
Joe Rotondi   Piano
Antonio Vazquez   Trombone
Alan Mautner   Cello
Pablo Padin   Timbales
Roberto Campos   Bongos,Conga,Cajon,cowbell,Bata Drums,Quijada
Joseph Fonseca   Background Vocals
Robin Cecil   Violin
César Silva   Accordion
Sofía Buitron   Background Vocals
Tito Manrique   Guitar
Cesar Peredo   Flute
Rosa Ayllon   Background Vocals
Maria Elena Pacheco   Violin

Technical Credits

Chabuca Granda   Composer
Alex Acuña   Producer
José Lugo   Arranger,Producer
Harry Scorzo   Arranger
Luis Tamargo   Liner Notes
Rolando Alejandro   Engineer
Andres Soto   Composer
José Escajadillo   Composer
Daniel Escobar   Composer
Roberto Campos   Contributor
Eva Ayllón   Executive Producer
German Villacorta   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Augusto Polo Campos   Composer
Juan Morillo   Producer,Executive Producer
Madhukar "Madooo" Dhas   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews