Evanly Bodies (Constable Evans Series #10)

Evanly Bodies (Constable Evans Series #10)

by Rhys Bowen
4.1 9


$21.89 $23.95 Save 9% Current price is $21.89, Original price is $23.95. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Evanly Bodies (Constable Evans Series #10) by Rhys Bowen

Praise for Rhys Bowen and the Evan Evans Mysteries

"The author's cozily intimate style, unusual setting, and modest, down-home hero...make for satisfying entertainment."

—-Kirkus Reviews

"Bowen keeps the suspense slowly building to a satisfying and tidy conclusion."

—-Publishers Weekly on Evan Blessed

"A fine sense of place, a compelling dual story line, and a cast of sympathetic, well-drawn characters give this small-town police procedural plenty of appeal."

—-Booklist on Evan's Gate

"Another charming entry in a series that shows no signs of growing stale."

—-Denver Post on Evan Only Knows

"Storytelling at its best with well-drawn, engaging characters and a vivid sense of place. A definite winner."

—-Peter Robinson, author of Playing with Fire, on Evan Only Knows

"A winning series."

—-Publishers Weekly on Evan Only Knows

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312349424
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 08/08/2006
Series: Constable Evans Series , #10
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.61(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.93(d)

About the Author

Rhys Bowen is the author of ten books in the Evan Evans series as well as four in the Molly Murphy series, including Murphy's Law, which won the Agatha Award for Best Novel and the Herodotus for Best First Historical Novel; Death of Riley, an Agatha finalist; For the Love of Mike, a finalist for the Macavity and Anthony Awards; and most recently, Oh Danny Boy. Evan's Gate, the seventh Evans novel, was a finalist for the prestigious Edgar Award. She lives in San Rafael, California. Visit her Web site at https://jqh.home.netcom.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Evanly Bodies (Constable Evans Series #10) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent. I'll buy more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok for book borrow library but may deter cash sales a page count is always welcome mom
Guest More than 1 year ago
In Llanfair, Wales Detective Constable Evan Evans heads home at night when he sees the light in a corner store. He investigates and meets the new owner of a grocery store, Pakistani Azeem Khan and his hostile son Rashid, a college student. As he greets them, Evan notices that the younger one¿s accent is more Yorkshire than Asian. Not everyone welcomes the ¿heathens¿ Rashid assumes because they are Muslins, but Evan knows that any stranger would be glared at including the English. Not long afterward, Evan learns that Azeem has arranged a marriage for his sixteen year old daughter Jamilla DI Bragg leads an investigation into the shooting death of History professor Martin Rogers while he ate breakfast. Bragg informs Major Incident Team member Evans that he is to be a junior officer on the case and no more. Meanwhile Bragg believes that the wife Madeleine known as ¿Missy¿ killed her husband, but Evans doubts that the egg shell of this case has been broken yet. He is proven right when two more homicides occur while Missy resides in jail on a murder charge at the same time that Jamilla has run away from home. --- In his seventh police procedural Evan is at his best as he works for the aptly named Bragg who wants all the glory so knowing the constable¿s reputation for success tries to limit his role to that of a gopher. The whodunit is cleverly devised and filled with twists as the locals suspect the foreign newcomers while Bragg somewhat agrees though he still thinks Missy killed her husband only Evan and his wife Bronwyn feel the serial killer is someone else. Fans will appreciate the final stunning heart-wrenching spin in what may be the preeminent novel in one of the sub-genre¿s consistently best series. --- Harriet Klausner