Every Secret Thing: A novel of friendship, betrayal and second chances, for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd

Every Secret Thing: A novel of friendship, betrayal and second chances, for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd

by Rachel Crowther

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $7.99 Save 6% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $7.99. You Save 6%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Can you ever bury the past?

'A wonderful page-turner of a novel' Fay Weldon on The Things You Do for Love

She'd recognised in him something of herself: that sense of not belonging, of secrets fiercely kept . . .

Five friends, newly graduated, travel together to the Lake District. Young and ambitious, they little imagine the events that will overtake them that fateful summer, tearing their fragile group apart.

Twenty years later, they return to the same spot, summoned by a mysterious bequest. It's not long before old friendships - and old romances - are re-kindled. But soon, too, rivalries begin to emerge and wounds are painfully reopened . . .

How long does it take for past sins to be forgiven? And can the things they destroy ever really be recovered?

Praise for Rachel Crowther

'Intelligent, with many layers, it is a gripping read' The Lady Magazine

'A good summer read for anyone prepared to be transported to the intensity of the undergraduate experience. Fascinating . . . witty and empathetic' Country Life

'The very best sort of fiction' Juliet Nicolson, author of A House Full of Daughters

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781785762130
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction
Publication date: 06/29/2017
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
File size: 625 KB

About the Author

Rachel Crowther is a doctor who worked for the NHS for 20 years and is the mother of five children. She dabbled in creative writing between babies and medical exams, until an Arvon course prompted her to take it more seriously. She's also a keen musician and cook.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Every Secret Thing: A novel of friendship, betrayal and second chances, for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Valerian70 More than 1 year ago
Every Secret Thing is the tale of five disparate characters - Marmion, Cressida, Stephen, Bill and Judith - who are all brought together in 1992 when they begin studying at St. Annes, Cambridge. Flung together by their choral studies they are further gelled by a shadowy mentor figure of Fay. Fay clearly has some connection to St. Annes but nobody seems to know quite what that is and she is significantly older than the quintet but a circle of friendship is fast formed. This friendship culminates in a weekend retreat in 1995, after their finals, when Fay invites them to spend a weekend at her Lakeland country retreat High Scarp. Shadowed by Nags Pike the five have a wonderful time singing in small churches with wonderful acoustics during the day, hearty meals and fireside games in the evenings. However, things start to unravel on the final night with deepseated feelings and thoughts coming to the surface. Flash forward 20 years and the friends have been summoned to High Scarp for a meeting. One of their number are deceased and nobody is sure where Fay is having lost touch after graduation. The biggest issue I had with this book was that the story is told almost entirely in the head of whichever character that chapter is named for. I have no problem with the timeshift from chapter to chapter to juxtapose the 1995 Bill (or whoever) with the 2015 Stephen; in some ways this is the only thing that kept me reading. The real issue is that these are deeply unpleasant and completely non-sympathetic characters and I rapidly lost any invested interest in what the outcome for them would be. The writing is convoluted and frequently I found myself thinking that one word could, and in most cases, should have replaced the five that were used. Writing is a craft but in a novel the story should surpass the craft and in this case craft is very definitely at the forefront. What could have been a completely engrossing tale of friendship, ove, loss and perfidy becomes a dry treatise in how unpleasant we are to each other and ourselves.