Every Valley

Every Valley

by Public Service Broadcasting


$13.83 $14.99 Save 8% Current price is $13.83, Original price is $14.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, July 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Every Valley

London's Public Service Broadcasting are a sort of postmodern plunderphonic pop group who build songs around samples from old educational films and archival footage. Their sound isn't too far off from an imaginary collaboration between Negativland and Explosions in the Sky, but somehow it's more accessible than that description would suggest, and they've managed to become a phenomenon in their home country. Their albums have charted highly, and they've even opened for the Rolling Stones. Their second album, 2015's self-explanatory The Race for Space, was inspired by events ranging from the 1957 launch of the Sputnik 1 satellite to the final Apollo mission in 1972. Every Valley is another concept album, this time focusing on the rise and fall of the Welsh coal-mining industry. PSB committed themselves to the conception and production of this album even more than their past works -- they traveled to Ebbw Vale, a former steelworks town in southern Wales, and recorded in a building previously used as the convention center for a worker's institute. They interviewed citizens from the town, and some of the interview clips are even woven into the album's songs. Several guest vocalists and musicians appear, and most of them are of Celtic origin. The breezy single "Progress" features Tracyanne Campbell of Glaswegian indie pop legends Camera Obscura passionately declaring "I believe in progress" along with Kraftwerk-inspired vocoders and atmospheric synths. James Dean Bradfield of Brit-pop titans Manic Street Preachers adds a bit of bombast to the radio-ready "Turn No More," and singer/actress Lisa Jên Brown sings partially in Welsh on the sweet, tender duet "You + Me." As befits the theme, the album generally seems a bit more earthy than The Race for Space, which was more synth-driven and futuristic. Electronics are still present, of course, as are the group's signature samples, which are as sharply edited as ever. This time out, however, there's a greater presence of strings and horns, and much more of a crunch to the guitars on songs like "All Out." Even though the album is inspired by a particular period from the past, it's not an exercise in nostalgia -- the group intends to relate past occurrences with the events of the present day (particularly with the interview clips during "They Gave Me a Lamp"), and point toward the future. Even more so than on The Race for Space, PSB seem less like a gimmicky novelty group and more like a new breed of intelligent, socially conscious pop music.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/07/2017
Label: Pias America
UPC: 5414939959448
catalogNumber: 970
Rank: 38890

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Public Service Broadcasting   Primary Artist
James Dean Bradfield   Vocals
Tracyanne Campbell   Vocals,Vocoder
Bernard Kane   Viola
Sue Lord   Violin
Naomi Rump   Violin
Craig MacDonald   French Horn
Simon Howes   Violin
Holly Cook   Double Bass
Katy Cox   Cello
Haiku Salut   Percussion,Accordion,Vocals
Wrigglesworth   Percussion,Drums,Glockenspiel,Vibes,Hand Clapping
Esq. J. Willgoose   Synthesizer,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Wurlitzer
Iain Maxwell   Bass Trombone,Tenor Trombone
Kevin O'Hara   French Horn
JF Abraham   Bass,Percussion,Trumpet
Abigail Blackman   Cello
Toby Street   Trumpet
Emma Bryden   Cello
Katey Day   Double Bass
January Tewson   Viola
James Pillai   French Horn
Ian Vorley   Viola
Dan Jones   Violin
Edward Hallinan   Tuba
Barnaby Philpott   Bass Trombone,Tenor Trombone
Oliver Hickie   French Horn
Lisa Jén Brown   Vocals
Sarah Loveridge   Violin

Technical Credits

James Dean Bradfield   Composer
Roger Hand   Composer
Gerard Saint   Art Direction
Idris Davies   Composer
Matt Davies   Drum Technician
James Campbell   Engineer
Rod Edwards   Composer
Paul Blakeman   Tape Machine
Haiku Salut   Composer
Esq. J. Willgoose   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Phil Armson   Art Direction
JF Abraham   Composer,String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Lisa Jén Brown   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews