Everything Is Going to Be Great: An Underfunded and Overexposed European Grand Tour

Everything Is Going to Be Great: An Underfunded and Overexposed European Grand Tour

by Rachel Shukert
3.5 19

Paperback

$9.84 $13.99 Save 30% Current price is $9.84, Original price is $13.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, October 20 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Everything Is Going to Be Great: An Underfunded and Overexposed European Grand Tour by Rachel Shukert

“Shukert's sharp comic turns careen smack into the middle of our hearts."
Los Angeles Times

 

Everything Is Going to Be Great, is performer, playwright, comedian, and author Rachel Shukert’s hilarious memoir of traveling through Europe in her twenties. She chronicles her youthful navigation through the haphazard fun and debauchery of new freedoms, and the growing pains that ultimately accompany “adulthood.” Fans of Sloane Crosley and David Sedaris are going to love Shulkert’s story, and her sharp, smart humor.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061782350
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 07/27/2010
Pages: 312
Sales rank: 1,309,706
Product dimensions: 8.06(w) x 5.82(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

Rachel Shukert is a playwright, performer, and the author of Have You No Shame? And Other Regrettable Stories. Her writing has appeared in McSweeney's and Heeb, and on Salon, Slate, Gawker, Nerve, and The Daily Beast, as well as featured on National Public Radio and in numerous print anthologies. Shukert was born and raised in Omaha, Nebraska, and now lives in New York City with her husband and her bipolar cat.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Everything Is Going to Be Great: An Underfunded and Overexposed European Grand Tour 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The premise sounded terrific, but the reality of the book is that it is horrible. The author tries to be funny by throwing in tons of raunchy talk, but instead of being funny, it is just sophomoric. I wish I had read a free preview - then I wouldn't have wasted my money on this piece of garabage.
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
If you've ever dreamed of traveling to Europe with no money or any real idea of how you are going to live, this is the book for you. If you have a young daughter who wants to do that, do not read this book, it will scare the hell out of you. Subtitled An Underfunded and Overexposed European Grand Tour, Shukert recounts her many adventures traveling around Europe, first as the member of an acting troupe with a sketchy agenda, and then on her own, courtesy of an unstamped passport which allowed her to travel unfettered throughout Europe. Shukert is a very funny, albeit somewhat vulgar, writer. I read this on the city bus traveling around Manhattan and found myself keeping the book as closed as possible so as not to offend any Upper East Side matrons who may be trying to sneak a peek at what I was reading. She writes very freely of her many sexual exploits, which often coincided with her drinking to excess. One really crazy night had her doing her best to avoid participating in a three-way with some very scary, excitable Italian men she did not know well. It was a scene a young, Jewish Lucy Riccardo might find herself in, all that was missing was Ethel, and Shukert had me laughing like crazy as she described extricating herself from this potentially dangerous situation. I loved her mother, whose favorite pastime was to send Rachel "large manila envelopes containing scraps of information that she feels need to be brought to my attention: notices culled from the local newspaper reporting that my high school boyfriend has once again been imprisoned for car theft; excerpts from the latest sermon torn from the synagogue bulletin; photocopied magazine articles detailing gruesome diseases from which she believes I might be at risk." On one card, her mom wrote- "Remember- having multiple sexual partners significantly increases your immediate risk of developing cancer of the cervix. Please consider." Hilarious! Shukert includes in the text helpful tips for living abroad, including what to do "When Someone Mistakes You For a Prostitute", "Are You About to Be Sex-trafficked?" and "Snappy Comebacks To Loaded Questions" such as 1. Why are Americans so fat? 2. Are Americans religious because they are stupid, or just ignorant? and 3. Why do Americans cruelly refuse to provide public health care for all? There is lots of heart in this memoir, and I liked Shukert's adventures in Amsterdam, living with her friends, Jeroen and Mattis. She gives the reader a good flavor for what it is like living in a foreign city: the loneliness, the difficulty in getting a job, the joy of riding a bike as a means of transportation. Everything Will Be Great will appeal to mostly a younger crowd, and for those lucky enough to have traveled to Europe, they will chuckle with recognition.
Liza_Loo More than 1 year ago
So I don't often come back and review books, but this book is something you just MUST read! The style is hilarious and can put a smile on your face no matter what kind of day your having. As a travel-obsessed college student strapped for cash and an overwhelming desire for adventure, this book was blissful escapism. I'm hoping to do something similar, jump a plane abroad and just explore and live life like Rachel did. So if you're a travel-lover, want a laugh, and a new perspective, read the book, you won't be disappointed.
TiBookChatter More than 1 year ago
Rachel Shukert's account of her time spent in Europe is both funny and sad at the same time. She's a storyteller and can make any situation funny, but my problem with this particular memoir is that some things just aren't funny. Like rape. Now, I love a good laugh. I've been known to laugh at little people in diapers, running down the street (ala the tv show Jackass) but rape? Not funny. Basically, much of the book is spent with Shukert trying to find herself. She's educated and has a supportive family but when things go south while trying to live on her own in Europe, she quickly resorts to juvenile, school-girl antics. These antics involve many sexual romps with various men, usually strangers and sometimes involving large amounts of drink and drug. I stuck with the book because I wanted to see if Shukert matured by the book's end but I think most readers will tire of the sexual escapades outlined in nearly every chapter. I will say this, if you go into it knowing that some things may be completely inappropriate, you might be able to push judgement aside and just enjoy the writing. Shukert's writing is crisp and snappy and yes, very funny. If you find yourself looking for a funny read and don't mind sex, drugs or colorful language, then this would be a good choice for you. Plus, it's a super-quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sad, horribke writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago