Everything's Fine

Everything's Fine

by The Summer Set


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Everything's Fine

While the Summer Set's full-length debut, Love Like This, was firmly entrenched in happy-go-lucky young love, its follow-up, Everything's Fine, finds the bandmembers wiser in matters of the heart and more mature in their musicianship. The charm that previously pulled in listeners is there, but Everything's Fine sets aside most of the saccharine-laden hooks in place of a more laid-back, breezy vibe, positioning the Summer Set to reach more pop-minded audiences while still pleasing loyal fans. This is bolstered by producer John Fields, whose résumé ranges from P!nk to Jimmy Eat World, who captures the quintet with a new sense of focus and universality. Leadoff track "About a Girl," with gentle guitar work bringing to mind Goo Goo Dolls' hit "Iris," sets the mood for the record both sonically and thematically, finding the Summer Set delivering their newly grown-up emo-pop as they navigate the ups and downs of dating and relationships. Pondering the carefree joy of love, "Thick as Thieves," co-written by Matchbox Twenty multi-instrumentalist Paul Doucette, takes the band to the beach, channeling Jack Johnson with its ukulele and handclap-driven melody. And just as the music has grown, so too have frontman Brian Logan Dales' vocals -- the uplifting, spare "Don't Let Me Go" shows he has the chops and appeal of an alt-pop favorite like Train singer Patrick Monahan. If it sounds like the band has lost its edge, fret not: tracks like "Must Be the Music," with its rapid-fire lyrics about getting caught up in the craziness of a party, recall the rowdiness of their debut. While the Summer Set shed some of their emo-pop roots for Everything's Fine, the growth as songwriters and performers as well as potential for wider recognition shown on their sophomore effort is a worthy exchange. ~ Chrysta Cherrie

Product Details

Release Date: 07/19/2011
Label: Razor & Tie
UPC: 0793018313322
catalogNumber: 83133

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Summer Set   Primary Artist
John Fields   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Mike Daly   Acoustic Guitar
Ken Chastain   Percussion
Paul Doucette   Vocals
Stephen Gomez   Bass,Group Member
Josh Montgomery   Guitar,Group Member
Brian Dales   Vocals,Group Member
John Gomez   Guitar,Group Member
Jess Bowen   Drums,Group Member
Steve Lu   Strings
Dan Parker   Keyboards

Technical Credits

John Fields   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Mike Daly   Composer
Ken Chastain   Programming
Blair Daly   Composer
Paul Doucette   Composer
Steven Taylor   Back Cover Photo
Travis Huff   Composer,Programming
Rob Hawkins   Composer
Summer Set   Composer
Nolan Sipe   Composer
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer
Nate Company   Composer
C. Todd Nielson   Programming
Ryan Petersen   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Everything's Fine 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago