Eve's Lament

Eve's Lament

by Heather Corbally Bryant


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


Eve’s Lament chronicles the poetic journey of a woman in an abusive relationship who is beginning to open her eyes, clear her throat, and speak her own truth in the midst of motherhood, marriage, and betrayal. The speaker is attuned to the miracles of the natural world, the poets and artists who have come before her, and the place of truth in all our lives. In this era of women finally being able to recount their traumas, Eve’s Lament illustrates the power of finding a voice, of saying what really happened, of breaking the taboos around silence and shame. In careful language, the poet observes the world around her with intensity and focus; she responds to the cycle of the seasons, and she draws a shield around the inviolability of self, no matter the source of the attack. Most of all, Eve’s Lament conveys the power of what can happen when women take charge of writing their own stories, rather than allowing men to control their narratives. Set largely in New England, these poems are meditations upon the domestic sphere, but from the point of view of the artist rather than the victim. The poems offer hope to the speaker’s children, to the next generation, that they can pursue the life they desire, rather than the one imposed upon them.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781635343861
Publisher: Finishing Line Press
Publication date: 01/05/2018
Pages: 38
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.09(d)

About the Author

Heather Corbally Bryant (formerly Heather Bryant Jordan) teaches in the Writing Program at Wellesley College. She received her A.B. from Harvard, and her PhD from the University of Michigan. She published How Will the Heart Endure: Elizabeth Bowen and the Landscape of War," (University of Michigan Press, 1992). She also has six books of poetry either published or forthcoming: Cheap Grace, Finishing Line Press, (2011); Lottery Ticket, The Parallel Press Poetry Series of the University of Wisconsin Libraries (2013); Compass Rose, Finishing Line Press (2016). My Wedding Dress, her first full-length volume of poetry, and Thunderstorm, her second, were published by Finishing Line Press in 2016 and 2017.

Table of Contents

Early in January 1

Exemplary Life 2

Propter Chorum 3

Winter Air 4

My Maternal Grandmother 5

Growing Children 6

Birth Day 7

The Words 8

Still Life 9

Good Night 10

Jewels 11

Disentangling 12

Growing Up 13

What If 14

A Doctor Visit 15

The Huntress 16

Night School 17

Clay Snowman 18

The Divorce of a Friend 19

The Goose 20

What I Know 21

Wash Day 22

Reckoning 23

On Suffering 24

Casting Doubt 25

Night Sky 26

Sparks in the Dark 27

Eve’s Lament 28

Customer Reviews