The Evolution of Coinage

The Evolution of Coinage

by George MacDonald


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Evolution of Coinage by George MacDonald

This 1916 volume presents a historical account of the development of coinage, incorporating discussion of coin production and illustrative examples.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781107605992
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 03/22/2012
Pages: 174
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.99(h) x 0.39(d)

About the Author

George MacDonald (1824-1905) was a Scottish author, poet, and Christian minister who was a pioneering figure in the field of fantasy literature. A mentor to Lewis Carroll and a major influence on writers from C. S. Lewis to J. R. R. Tolkien, MacDonald’s best-known books are Phantastes, The Princess and the Goblin, At the Back of the North Wind, and Lilith, which are all fantasy novels.

Table of Contents

Preface; 1. Introductory; 2. Coinage and the state; 3. The material of coinage; 4. Form, and methods of production; 5. Types; 6. Legends; 7. Dates, and marks of value; Key to the plates; Select bibliography; Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews