Experiencing Debussy: A Listener's Companion

Experiencing Debussy: A Listener's Companion

by Teresa Davidian


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 9


Claude Debussy holds a place as a one of the most recognizable and influential composers in the classical music. Debussy forged a new and influential sound for the twentieth century with his remarkable harmonies, fluid rhythms, airy textures, and an instinct for mystery and beauty.
In Experiencing Debussy: A Listener's Companion, Teresa Davidian welcomes readers into the infectious appeal of Debussy's major works to consider how they can still attract and move audiences. In such works as the hauntingly beautiful Clair de Lune and the groundbreaking Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, Davidian looks beneath the surface of the music to explain its power, all the while drawing connections between different pieces to place them securely within the context of Debussy's life and times.
Written in an accessible style, Experiencing Debussy provides an engaging tour through Debussy's works for the concertgoers, movie buffs, performers, and students regardless of musical background.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781442271456
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 12/15/2018
Series: Listener's Companion Series
Pages: 156
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Teresa Davidian is professor of music at Tarleton State University. She has written articles and papers on the music of Claude Debussy, the musical avant-garde of the 1930s, and American popular music. Her book Tonal Counterpoint for the 21st-Century Musician: An Introduction was published by Rowman & Littlefield.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 The Early Years: Rebel and Insider
Chapter 2 Impressionist vs. Symbolist
Chapter 3 Debussy and Wagner: An Uneasy Alliance
Chapter 4 Debussy and Ravel
Chapter 5 The Water Music
Chapter 6 A French Nationalist with an Eye toward the East
Chapter 7 Debussy's Achievement and Legacy
Selected Listening

Customer Reviews