Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Experiments in Joy

Experiments in Joy

by Gabrielle Civil
Experiments in Joy

Experiments in Joy

by Gabrielle Civil




What can people do together that we can’t do alone?

What can we discover in ourselves only by way of other people?

Gabrielle Civil’s Experiments in Joy celebrates black feminist collaborations and solos in essays, letters, performance texts, scores, images, and more. Following her explosive debut Swallow the Fish, Civil now documents her work with From the Hive, No. 1 Gold, and Call & Response—whose collaborative Call inspired the title. The book also features her solo encounters with artists and writers, ancestors and audiences. Here you will find black girlhood, grief, ghosts, girls in their bedrooms, lots of books, dancing, reading, falling in love, fighting back, and flying. With lots of heart and the help of her friends, Civil keeps reckoning with performance, art and life.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781948700153
Publisher: Accomplices LLC
Publication date: 02/15/2019
Pages: 276
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.58(d)

Customer Reviews