Pub. Date:
Faithful and Virtuous Night

Faithful and Virtuous Night

by Louise Glück


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, September 28



Winner of the 2014 National Book Award for Poetry

A luminous, seductive new collection from the "fearless" (The New York Times) Pulitzer Prize–winning poet

Louise Glück is one of the finest American poets at work today. Her Poems 1962–2012 was hailed as "a major event in this country's literature" in the pages of The New York Times. Every new collection is at once a deepening and a revelation. Faithful and Virtuous Night is no exception.
You enter the world of this spellbinding book through one of its many dreamlike portals, and each time you enter it's the same place but it has been arranged differently. You were a woman. You were a man. This is a story of adventure, an encounter with the unknown, a knight's undaunted journey into the kingdom of death; this is a story of the world you've always known, that first primer where "on page three a dog appeared, on page five a ball" and every familiar facet has been made to shimmer like the contours of a dream, "the dog float[ing] into the sky to join the ball." Faithful and Virtuous Night tells a single story but the parts are mutable, the great sweep of its narrative mysterious and fateful, heartbreaking and charged with wonder.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374535773
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 09/01/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 80
Sales rank: 89,014
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.70(h) x 0.30(d)

About the Author

Louise Glück is the author of more than a dozen books of poems and a collection of essays. Her many awards include the 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature, the 2015 National Humanities Medal, the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for The Wild Iris, the 2014 National Book Award for Faithful and Virtuous Night, the 1985 National Book Critics Circle Award for The Triumph of Achilles, the 2001 Bollingen Prize, the 2012 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poems: 1962-2012, and the 2008 Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets. She teaches at Yale University and lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Table of Contents

Parable 3

An Adventure 5

The Past 7

Faithful and Virtuous Night 8

Theory of Memory 18

A Sharply Worded Silence 19

Visitors from Abroad 22

Aboriginal Landscape 24

Utopia 26

Cornwall 27

Afterword 30

Midnight 34

The Sword in the Stone 38

Forbidden Music 43

The Open Window 44

The Melancholy Assistant 45

A Foreshortened Journey 47

Approach of the Horizon 49

The White Series 52

The Horse and Rider 59

A Work of Fiction 60

The Story of a Day 61

A Summer Garden 64

The Couple in the Park 71

Customer Reviews