Fallen Angel

Fallen Angel

by Larry Coryell


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Fallen Angel

On Fallen Angel, Larry Coryell teams up with arranger Don Sebesky to produce a wide-ranging album full of sampled sounds and programmed tracks in an attempt to mix the old CTI sound of the '70s with the production techniques and rhythms of the '90s. "Inner City Blues" kicks things off with great promise, as Coryell jams over a pre-programmed rhythm track with background vocalists. On "(Angel on Sunset) Bumpin' on Sunset," he improvises along with a sampled Wes Montgomery, then turns Erroll Garner's classic "Misty" into a mid-tempo reggae jaunt through which he and pianist Mulgrew Miller travel lightly. The CTI connection is brought to the forefront with a remake of Deodato's "2001" hit called "Thus Spoke Z," on which the famous theme is implied but never stated. Other highlights include a funky, angular tribute called "Monk's Corner," Sebesky's attractive "I Remember Bill" and the solo "Westerly Wind." There are also two pleasant smooth jazz vocal pieces at the front of the album, the beautiful ballad, "Fallen," a duet between vocalists Klyde Jones and Jeanie Bryson, and the funky made-for-radio "Never Never," featuring saxophonist Richard Elliot and a vocal from Ms. Jones. Fallen Angel was obviously an attempt to find Larry Coryell a place on the smooth jazz playlist, a task it didn't really accomplish. While it is not likely to appease those who bemoan the guitarist's failure to live up to his initial promise, it can be enjoyed if taken on its own terms.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/28/2006
Label: Cti Records
UPC: 4011220012366
catalogNumber: 7001236

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Larry Coryell   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dori Caymmi   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Richard Elliot   Tenor Saxophone
Wes Montgomery   Electric Guitar
Ted Rosenthal   Piano
Chris Hunter   Alto Saxophone
Nico Assumpção   Bass
Luiz Avellar   Keyboards
Jeanie Bryson   Vocals
Billy Cobham   Drums
Don Sebesky   Synthesizer
Donald Harrison   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Klyde Jones   Vocals
Jamie Lawrence   Synthesizer
Romero Lubambo   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mulgrew Miller   Piano
Monica Millet   Percussion
Marcio Montarroyos   Trumpet
Tiao Oliveira   Percussion

Technical Credits

Larry Coryell   Composer,Liner Notes,Adaptation
Erroll Garner   Composer
Wes Montgomery   Composer
Lauren Wood   Composer
Don Sebesky   Arranger,Composer,Director,Adaptation,Music Direction
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Klyde Jones   Composer,Lyricist
Joe Martin   Engineer
Creed Taylor   Producer
Rachmaninoff Quartet   Composer
Blake Taylor   Art Direction
Joseph Eugene Martin   Engineer
James Nyx   Composer
Daniel Lawrence   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews