Falling Up: My Wild Ride from Victim to Kick-Ass Victory

Falling Up: My Wild Ride from Victim to Kick-Ass Victory

by Dana Liesegang, Natasha Stoynoff


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Falling Up: My Wild Ride from Victim to Kick-Ass Victory by Dana Liesegang, Natasha Stoynoff

From the time Dana Liesegang could walk, she was out looking for adventure, and she never stopped. As a fearless child in the Pacific Northwest, she climbed trees, caught frogs, and held her own with any boy in town. She brought that true-grit, fire-in-her-belly attitude to the Navy . . . and to her recovery from the unthinkable. At the age of 19, she was sexually assaulted by a fellow sailor and thrown off a cliff, left for dead. She survived—but woke up in a hospital hours later paralyzed from the neck down, with doctors giving no hope for recovery.They underestimated the spirit and stubbornness of their patient.In Falling Up: My Wild Ride from Victim to Kick-Ass Victory, Dana recounts her agonizing and sometimes comical struggle from total dependence to doing the "impossible": walking again. With equal parts humor and rawness, she brings us along on her wild ride, as she navigates her new world, hurtles through rocky relationships, deals with family secrets, and returns to her love of sports and the outdoors. In the process, she learns the importance of forgiveness, discovers the awe-inspiring power of belief and perseverance, and transforms herself from silent victim to outspoken advocate and inspiration for people everywhere.After all, sometimes an unexpected fall can lead a person to reach for magnificent heights.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401946357
Publisher: Hay House Inc.
Publication date: 11/15/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 1,275,379
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Dana Liesegang is an expert in spinal cord injury recovery, and a 2014 recipient of the Hero of Forgiveness Award given by the Worldwide Forgiveness Alliance. When she’s not traveling the world as a motivational speaker, she’s taking university classes and hanging out with friends—and until recently, the love of her life, Jack (her yellow Lab, who’s now in heaven)—in a quaint little town in Colorado. She enjoys every minute of the life she has created in the now. Please visit: www.danaliesegangbook.comNatasha Stoynoff is a New York Times best-selling author. She lives in New York City, where she writes books and screenplays, interviews the occasional celebrity, and eats too much chocolate.

Table of Contents

Foreword Dr. Wayne W. Dyer ix

Preface xi

Part I Before the Fall

Chapter 1 A River Runs Through It 3

Chapter 2 Heroes, Fighters, and Top Dogs 11

Chapter 3 Broken Hearts 19

Chapter 4 Men of the House 27

Chapter 5 Rebel, with Cause 37

Chapter 6 Tough Enough 45

Part II After the Fall

Chapter 7 Ears of Tears 59

Chapter 8 No Crying in Rehab 69

Chapter 9 We Are Family 81

Chapter 10 Curbs and Wheelies 91

Chapter 11 Out in the World, Shit Happens 99

Chapter 12 Dance with Me 111

Chapter 13 Nightmares and Dreams 119

Chapter 14 Snow Angels 129

Part III Falling Up

Chapter 15 Manifesting 143

Chapter 16 Mad Mexican Scientists 155

Chapter 17 Great Walls 167

Chapter 18 Girls Gone Wild 179

Chapter 19 Cry, Bum, Love, Heal 193

Chapter 20 Letting Go and Letting Goddess 207

Chapter 21 Forgiveness 217

Epilogue: Onward and Upward 227

Thank-yous 233

About the Authors 237

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews