False Witness

False Witness

by Andrew Grant

Hardcover

$24.30 $27.00 Save 10% Current price is $24.3, Original price is $27. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

False Witness by Andrew Grant

Alabama police detective Cooper Devereaux chases a cunning serial killer terrorizing the city of Birmingham in this edge-of-your-seat thriller for readers of James Lee Burke, Craig Johnson, and Robert Crais.
                 
A woman disappears on her twenty-first birthday. The following day her body is found, wrapped neatly like a gift in a crumbling, sun-speckled graveyard. What does Detective Devereaux have to go on? Very little. No motive, no suspects. Then another victim is discovered in a crematorium parking lot. Again, she was killed on her twenty-first birthday. Again, her body was wrapped like a gift. By the third murder the tabloids have dubbed the homicidal monster the Birthday Killer—and Devereaux is under the gun.
                 
While Devereaux’s own violent and mysterious past nips at his heels, and his fragile home life threatens to unravel, he can’t afford to be anything but totally obsessed with the frantic search through the many layers of this city, from its wealthy enclaves to its dark criminal underbelly. The only certainty is that Devereaux is hunting a killer determined to fulfill a deranged agenda in which women’s lives are extinguished like candles on a cake.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780399594335
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 01/02/2018
Series: Detective Cooper Devereaux Series , #3
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 461,956
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Andrew Grant is the author of RUN, False Positive, and False Friend. He was born in Birmingham, England. He attended the University of Sheffield, where he studied English literature and drama. He ran a small independent theater company, and subsequently worked in the telecommunications industry for fifteen years. Grant and his wife, the novelist Tasha Alexander, live on a wildlife preserve in Wyoming.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "False Witness"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Andrew Grant.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

False Witness 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
qstewart More than 1 year ago
Who is killing women on their 21st birthday and leaving them wrapped up in sheets as if they are presents? This is the case that Devereaux and his partner, Garretty, are handed when the first body shows up. As they work through the evidence, which there is not much, and check out the usual suspects they seem to be just spinning their wheels when a second body is found and an eye witness comes forward, but is the eyewitness believable. While this is going on Devereaux is working on a personal case that may lead to evidence that will prove his father's innocence. What about his relationship with Alexandra, will she be willing to take him back. They lose a prime suspect, and some want the case closed at that, but some just does not sit right with Devereaux and keeps digging into both cases. He has a new suspect, but must release him for lack of evidence and another woman goes missing while he is in custody. Will he be able to solve this case and the personal one or are they both to be left up in the air as unsolved? An excellent read and I look forward to more from Andrew Grant.