Fanny Hensel: Goethe-Lieder

Fanny Hensel: Goethe-Lieder

by Tobias Berndt


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Fanny Hensel: Goethe-Lieder

A few recordings have been devoted to the music of Fanny Hensel, who was Felix Mendelssohn's sister. There is a unique release covering music she composed during an Italian journey that was also memorialized in paintings by her husband, artist Ludwig Hensel. But this release by German baritone Tobias Berndt and accompanist Alexander Fleischer represents a whole new ballgame. The pair programmed music by Hensel in song recitals, were impressed by its high quality, went looking for more, and found it in libraries where it had rested undisturbed for nearly two centuries. The current count of Hensel songs is about 250, which is more than Mendelssohn composed. The decision to record settings of Goethe texts is a good one, for it automatically gives listeners some of Hensel's most ambitious efforts. Her songs reflect a consciousness of both Mendelssohn and Schubert, but don't sound much like either one. They offer the accompanist, who would have been Hensel herself, a great deal to do, and there's a sort of weighty lyricism that diverges from Schubert's limpid simplicity and Mendelssohn's melodicism. There is not a bit of the conventional foursquare setting in a single one of them, and Hensel even manages to make the tiny "Wiederfinden" (track 19) into an entrancing original. This recording was obviously something of a labor of love for Berndt and Fleischer, who take care with each individual song and give the music their best. The booklet for this release is in German only, a disadvantage except for readers of that language, inasmuch as the recording offers major discoveries that ought to be publicized as widely as possible.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/10/2015
Label: Querstand Records
UPC: 4025796015096
catalogNumber: 1509
Rank: 172315


  1. Aglæ ("Was ich allein behalten"), song for voice & piano (H. 226)
  2. Wonne der Wehmut ("Trocknet nicht"), song for voice & piano (H. 227)
  3. Nähe des Geliebten [I], song for voice & piano (H. 36)
  4. Auf dem See, song for voice & piano (H. 382)
  5. Jägers Abendlied, song for voice & piano (H. 124)
  6. Wiederfinden ("Ist es möglich!"), song for voice & piano (H. 156)
  7. Erster Verlust [II] ("Ach, we bringt die schönen Tage"), song for voice & piano (H. 95)
  8. An die Enfernte, song for voice & piano (H. 105)
  9. Am Flusse ("Verfließet, vielgeliebte Lieder"), song for voice & piano (H. 204)
  10. An den Mond ("Füllest Wieder Busch und Tal"), song for voice & piano (H. 19)
  11. Der Fischer, song for voice & piano (H. 85)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews