Far From Home

Far From Home

by Anne DeGrace

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Overview

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption….A story that will impact our own lives profoundly.”
—Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home—a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace “a gifted story teller” and Far From Home “thoroughly enjoyable.” The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061728808
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/10/2009
Pages: 258
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.64(d)

About the Author

Anne DeGrace is a librarian, journalist, writer, illustrator, volunteer, mother, and multitasker. She lives in the mountains near Nelson, British Columbia.

What People are Saying About This

Katrina Kittle

“A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers.”

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Far From Home 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Beecharmer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was mediocre at best. It just seemed to be trying too hard to be interesting. I wasn't that intrigued by the book and had to make myself finish it.The story starts with a girl who is seduced by a charming houseguest. She finds herself pregnant and then finds her mother in bed with her lover. She runs away and has an abortion. A kind truck driver picks her up hitchhiking and leaves her at a mountain pass cafe. Cass, the owner gives her a job and place to stay. Working at the cafe must be like being a bartender. Jo hears all kinds of stories of other peoples lives. In the end she heads back home after apparently learning something from all of the stories.
rawlski on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Far from Home is about a teenage girl, Jo, who runs away from home after becoming pregnant with a man who ultimately sleeps with her mother. She hitchhikes with a truck driver and finds herself working at Cass¿ Roadside Café. Throughout the novel, various people come into Cass¿ Roadside Café and as Jo hears each of their stories, the reader is introduced to them. From the truck driver, Archie to the man on the run, each of the stories were too brief. While I liked the idea that each of the ¿misfits¿ came together at Cass¿ diner, the novel lacked cohesiveness in each of the character¿s stories. It almost seemed like the author was trying to convey too many messages in this book and I would have liked to have some of the stories wrapped up as you never find out what happens to some characters after they are introduced and leave the diner. Due to this, it¿s difficult to connect with any of the characters as I was left constantly wanting more of each of their stories. I neither loved nor hated this book and would neither recommend nor not recommend it to others.
skrishna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Far From Home is the story of a disparate group of individuals. The only thing that they have in common is that they pass through Cass¿s Roadside Cafe, a diner off the side of the highway. Some are regular customers, others are one time visitors. But all of them have a story.This book had a lot of promise, especially with the foundation of Jo¿s story. She was a sympathetic character who dealt with a lot before she chose to leave home. Her story was an intriguing one and her development through other characters was very satisfying to watch. It was interesting to watch Jo come to terms with what had happened to her ¿ I continually wanted more of her story, to get to know Jo more.However, Far From Home didn¿t really come together for me quite like I hoped. There were simply too many characters. Jo and Cass were the foundation, and they were interesting and sympathetic. The author could have left it at that, or added two or three other characters to round out the story. But instead, she made the book like a diner, if that makes sense ¿ characters who drop in, stories of people who stop by the place once and then continue on their journeys. It¿s too difficult to keep track of the characters. Additionally, since the author doesn¿t have a chance to develop most of the people fully, it¿s difficult to connect with many of them. As a result, readers may find their attention wandering during some of these stories and have to fight the urge to skip sections of the book.Though Far From Home didn¿t quite live up to my hopes, Anne deGrace has a lot of potential. I look forward to seeing what she comes up with next.
DianaCoats on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is another Early Reviewers book for me, which I always look forward to because they are books that I would not necessarily come across myself.This book engaged me from the beginning and even though I thought the author could use some additional work on her style and cohesiveness, I wanted to know what was going to "happen" in the this book. I don't think you can say a book is "bad" if you are compelled to finish it and know the story. I thought the story concept was very strong and what kept me from loving the book all had to do with the way the author chose to present it.A heads up to animal lovers though...there are at least two passages in the book that have left lasting scars on me. I didn't expect it in this book and, although it made sense to the story, It left me reeling a bit. I am apathetic about whether I would recommend this book to friends...I would neither steer someone away nor tell them to read it.
berylweidenbach on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received this book to read and review early. Jo runs away after giving up a baby from a teenage pregnancy. She lands in a roadside cafe owned by a woman who likes to take in strays. The story is about people passing through the cafe, and passing briefly through her life. I really liked the premise, as I find it fascinating how often people that only appear in our lives briefly can have a big impact. I felt the story was forced somehow and some of the "appearances" were contrived. Also that Jo was not always open to what was going on around her, but she did come to realize that we each only have a "peek" into what others are experiencing at any given time. Perhaps "disappearing" for awhile helped her take her next step forward. A "pause" for her to catch her breath. I wish the best for Jo, but did not feel satisified with the ending of the book.
PaperbackPirate on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Have you ever felt like running away from it all? Every once in a great while I do, but I just know it would not turn out as well as it does for the main character in this story, Jo, who runs away after a teenage pregnancy debacle. She finds herself taken in by a woman who owns a cafe in Canada, becoming a waitress while dealing with the crisis that is her life. One day during her shift she meets people from all walks of life, each with a story that teaches a lesson. Anne DeGrace wrote from many different points of view, each time with a unique voice. Although the ending didn't really drive it home for me, I recommend readers escape in this story instead of hitting the road.
lasperschlager on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When I first read about Far From Home I was looking forward to reading it. A book about a group of people and a diner is just the type of story I love. I did enjoy Far From Home but it had its ups and downs. I liked the beginning and the way DeGrace told the story of how Jo got to the dinner. I liked how the characters lives were interwoven. It was sometimes hard to keep up with everyone but I also read this book over a few weeks. The ending was a bit lacking for me. I think I was expecting a different ending to one of the stories and didn't get it so I felt like I was left hanging, wondering. If you aren't a big fan of this style of writing, sort of short stories that leave you wanting more, than you may not like this book. The idea that the stories were taken from real life was neat. And like another person mentioned in their review, the part about the cat was not pleasant to think about and has unfortunately stuck with me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Teenager Jo travels far from her home in, Canada due to Eamon. He came to stay with her and her parents and took her virginity and her mother. Seeing him with the latter sent her on the road. The teen finds work near Calgary General Hospital at Cass's Roadside Cafe as a waitress. Seven months after she decided to hit the road on a particular nasty weather day in 1977, many people stop at the roadside eatery for a break in their arduous travel. Octogenarian Eunice tells her story insisting she has nothing to live for anymore. The businessman says his life is ruined as he runs away with no place to go. Bob the Mountie stops explaining he is in the middle of a crisis. Others like the trucker also tell their tale all linked to Pink the American hitchhiker who didn't pay his tab or leave a tip. FAR FROM HOME is an odd but fascinating Canadian tale that reads more like a series of anecdotal entries linked by the diner or Jo's back story re her family. Thus, a day at the diner or at the lead character's life at home make for an intriguing but not deep look at a variety of people passing through the life of Jo or Pink. Although there is no dramatic revelation as the lead character simply must decide between staying, heading east back through Calgary or west to Vancouver (south and north are not an option); fans will enjoy this Canadian café cozy as Anne DeGrace provides a warm character study. Harriet Klausner