Farewell Addresses of the Presidents of the United States

Farewell Addresses of the Presidents of the United States

by Applewood Books (Compiler)


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 10


Farewell Addresses of the Presidents of the United States collects ten addresses delivered by departing presidents, from George Washington in 1796 to Barack Obama in 2017.

George Washington's farewell address set the standard for speeches delivered by departing leaders of the United States, and has been followed by nine subsequent presidents. President Washington's address has been so respected and influential, that it has been read aloud in the Senate chamber each year since 1896. In it, Washington gave his view of the Union, the Constitution, and good citizenship. The ten presidential farewell addresses gathered here provide a revealing look at our country's leaders, their view of their legacies, and their visions for the future.

Included Addresses:

  • Washington (1796)
  • Andrew Jackson (1837)
  • Andrew Johnson (1869)
  • Harry S. Truman (1953)
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower (1961)
  • Jimmy Carter (1981)
  • Ronald Reagan (1989)
  • Bill Clinton (2001)
  • George W. Bush (2009)
  • Barack Obama (2017)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781429094436
Publisher: Applewood Books
Publication date: 01/11/2017
Pages: 96
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Applewood Books, publishers of America's living past, was founded in 1976. Since then, the company has published over 5,000 works, of which they've sold many millions of individual copies. Applewood's mission is to build a picture of America and American culture through primary sources. Among Applewood's best-selling titles are the "Books of American Wisdom" which include reprints of important American documents, essays, speeches, and poems.

Customer Reviews