The Farfield Curse (Bran Hambric Series #1)

The Farfield Curse (Bran Hambric Series #1)

Audiobook(CD - Library Edition)

$71.97 $79.97 Save 10% Current price is $71.97, Original price is $79.97. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Farfield Curse 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really really really good. It was well written and very exciting. I can't wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so fun to read. I never wanted to put it down when I read it. This book is a good read and I would recommend for 5-9 grades.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Farfield Curse is very magical and well written. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the first one and i am DYING to read the second one 5 stars all the way! Bran hambric is action packed and filled with magic and adventure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Bran Hambric soooo Much I wonder if Kaleb is going to make a 3rd one...
Celeste Tapia More than 1 year ago
I have not read this book, but it sounds good. Help!! ( you can watch Kaleb Nation on You Tube.)
BellaLien13 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much. It reminded me of harry potter in a way. Although it was completly different from any other book I have read. I loved the characters of the book, they always kept me laughing. The dialouge between characters was genious. I can't wait for the next book of the series to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bran Hambric written by Kaleb Nation is by far the best book I've ever read. The twists and turns and the funny imagination of the writer is just truely amazing and it fills our imagination with a new perspective. I highly reccomend this book if you're interested in fantasy and magic.
Galleysmith More than 1 year ago
Nation has constructed an interesting and imaginative world in Bran Hambric. It's Potter-esque lore of magic and mysticism is likely to enthrall the most reluctant of middle-grade and young adult aged readers. Where it falls a bit short, however, is segueing into the audience of adult readers which I whole-heartedly recognize is not it's purpose or goal. While the vivid imagery and creative characterizations make great strides in that direction the slower story-telling made it difficult to grab hold and really stay invested in the outcome. This is exemplified most in the heavy focus on the character of Sewey. A healthy amount of time was spent showcasing his curmudgeonly and grumpy nature - a point that was made several chapters in and would have sufficed. Moreover, what made this aspect more difficult to deal with was the fact that his constant presence didn't do much to further the main plot. Ultimately I struggled with the fact that this focus was time that could have been spent developing far more critical characters. In my humble opinion, a great place to focus some of that attention would have been in further developing Emry. Now, I caveat this by saying that the lack of true depth of focus on Emry may have been designed to keep the mystery of her involvement in the Farfield Curse alive..but, still there could have been more focus on her in a historical perspective so that the ultimate reveal at the end of the story was more powerful. The same holds true of characters involved in the Farfield aspect of the plot - more on Elspeth, Joris and other critical characters to the story of the Curse and it's role in Bran's life may have provided the reader more investment in the story earlier on. Speaking of the curse it took us over 2/3 of the book to really get deeper into that part of the story. This was a shame since it was the best and most thought provoking part of the novel. It is here that Nation found his stride as he revealed secrets long held back and allowed the reader to see how character's lives were truly intertwined. There were unexpected connections and surprising revelations that finally gave the reader that 'can't put it down' page turner aspect they longed for. It is in the chapters where Bran is in Farfield that the most compelling and enjoyable parts of the story are provided. Furthermore, Nation did an excellent job of making the mystery mysterious, I did not find myself predicting what was going to happen. The foreshadowing was subtle and kept the doors open for events to happen any number of ways. I appreciated that I wasn't lead through the story with my hand held the entire time. Nation's Bran Hambric series has enormous potential and despite what I personally found to be hurdles I can see the appeal of this book for it's target audience. I would certainly recommend this first book to middle graders and younger skewing young adults. Further, given the writing and plotting of the last 1/3 of this book I too am interested to see if the next book in Bran's story picks up where Nation found his stride in Farfield Curse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spooky, dark, yet surprisingly funny and lighhearted! Not quite as good as harry potter or septimus heap, bbut it is definitaly up there for my favorite fantasy !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What cabin is this?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey guys!!!! Sup? Hows life for y'all?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looking for a good read? I recommend Bran Hambric: TheFarfield Curse by Kaleb Nation. He thinks it's great choice for fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Fablehaven. Here's the lowdown: Bran’s mother was a criminal. Her crime was magic and magic,it seems, runs in the family. When Bran's mother gets involved with a sorcerer trying to make an evil curse, she hides her young son in a bank vault to protect him. She knows dark wizards will come after Bran because he has the power to finish the curse. Bran spends the next 8 years living with a banker's family in a town where magic is illegal. His step family mistreats him. But one day, thereis a break-in and Bran is given a clue about his mother. The clue leads him to discover his own magic powers. Bran has a destinyto fulfill--it could be for good or it could be for evil. Read the book to find out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! Just sad shambles had to die :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
suitedude55 More than 1 year ago
this book was....THE BEST BOOK EVER. ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER READ. ITS FUNNY, SMART, AND FAST PACED. THE BEGINNING ISNT ALL THAT GREAT, BUT THE SUSPENSE AND ACTION LEAVES YOU BREATHLESS. THE CHARACTERS ARE GREAT, I REALLY THINK THAT ANYONE WHO IS CONSIDERING THIS BOOK SHOULD GET IT. IF YOU LIKE MYSTERY AND CRIME BOOKS, GET THIS. IF YOU LIKE ACTION, GET THIS, AND IF YOU LIKE ROMANCE...DONT GET THIS. BUT EITHER WAY, JUST GET IT CAUSE ITS WELL WORTH THE MONEY! THANK YOU KALEB!
Nikkayme More than 1 year ago
What Kaleb Nation has done with Bran Hambric is what all aspiring authors should aim for. The Farfield Curse is interesting, enthralling, and extremely well-written. Nation infuses his characters with so much life and heart that they leap off the pages. Bran instantly draws readers in with the mystery behind his story - who is he and why doesn't he remember anything from his childhood? He's intelligent and sarcastic and is surrounded by an insane family. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the Wilomas' and their strange behavior, eccentricities, and very stilted values. Sewey, Bran's father figure (if you can even call him that) does some of the most crazy things, but it makes the story that much more entertaining because I wouldn't put anything past him. The relationship between Bran and Rosie, the 'maid,' is so touching and caring. I loved reading their interactions. The city of Dunce is a magic-free zone, but signs of magic are all over the place. A favorite bit of the story for me was Dunce's need to be magic free, including hanging a sign outside the gates that states: no gnomes no mages etcetera A good number of jokes spring from this and I just loved how it was consistently tied into other aspects of the tale. Even though Dunce is magic-free, Nation brings boatloads of magic to the story. The book is split into four parts and had the beginning not been so funny and filled with crazy Wilomas doings, I may have been bored because the magic doesn't really begin until part two opens up. But once part two begins, magic takes hold of the story, in the best possible way. Kaleb Nation has melded this fantastical world with the very typical, everyday life in ways that work in perfect harmony. Bran Hambric took hold of my heart and never let go. So much so, that I'm more than eager to pick up the next book to see where the gnomes, mages, and etceteras lead to next. Opening line: The night was cold and dead, and so felt Clarence's heart. ~ pg. xiii Favorite lines: "You don't know.or maybe you do know how it feels to lose something that's so important to you, even when you've never had it, you miss it like your life is dependent on it." ~ pg. 286
Anonymous More than 1 year ago