Farmer Not So John

Farmer Not So John

by Farmer Not So John Farmer Not So John


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


This self titled debut album bodes a most promising future for this group. It is country flavored and based, with rock roots and rhythms. There is a strong feeling of southern rock, that has been influenced by northern city sensibilities, in our shrinking world. Even if there is no specific name for this, it is still a disc that will have a wide appeal for it's lyric content, melodies, and solid sound. They have a gem, with great feel for the songs they pen, in Richard McLaurin. He handles the mandolin, lap steel, and dobro chores, along with a few other instruments. The songs have good lyric content that reminds me a bit of Bruce Cockburn. A real keeper is the opening cut "Fire In the Valley," penned by Mack Linebaugh, who wrote, or shared writing of 9 of the 11 tunes with Brian Ray and the rest of the band. This is a most solid effort that goes beyond the boundaries of a debut album. It has hat quality that holds promises of a long and distinctive constantly improving group.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/11/1997
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397423920
catalogNumber: 974239
Rank: 167724


  1. Fire in the Valley
  2. Rusty Weathervane
  3. Every Street in Nashville
  4. Of Angels
  5. Fool's Lullaby
  6. Paperweight of the World
  7. The Hole We're In
  8. Cradled
  9. Sacred Cow
  10. This Is Our House
  11. Travelin' Fool

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Farmer Not So John   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Steve Conn   Organ
Jerry Dale McFadden   Accordion
Brian Ray   Bass,Vocals
Richard McLaurin   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Mandolin,Percussion,Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Lap Steel Guitar
Mack Linebaugh   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Emmylou Truitt   Barking
Kris Kerr   Organ
Sean Ray   Pedal Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

Hank Tilbury   Engineer
Richard McLaurin   Producer,Engineer
Emmylou Truitt   Sound Effects
Bill Tyler   Graphic Design
Mack Linebaugh   Composer

Customer Reviews