×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Fat Lady Sings
     

The Fat Lady Sings

5.0 1
by Charlie Lovett
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sassy, irreverent Aggie Stockdale should have gotten the lead in her high school's production of Hello Dolly! It's her dream role; she's had the part memorized since she was ten; and she and Roger Morton, who's playing the male lead, definitely had chemistry in the audition. But Aggie isn't just a talented actress, writer, and athlete. She's

Overview

Sassy, irreverent Aggie Stockdale should have gotten the lead in her high school's production of Hello Dolly! It's her dream role; she's had the part memorized since she was ten; and she and Roger Morton, who's playing the male lead, definitely had chemistry in the audition. But Aggie isn't just a talented actress, writer, and athlete. She's also the fattest girl in the senior class. What happens after she checks the cast list for the musical will hurl Aggie into an unexpected journey of tears, friendship, jealousy, revenge, Oreos, and lots of lots of theatre. She'll discover hidden talents and new friends; she'll survive a daunting audition and revel in a thrilling opening night; she'll search for love, inspiration, help with her math homework, and the perfect closing number; and her emotional ride won't be over 'til the fat lady sings.

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
This dynamic theater story stars Aggie, a girl whose enthusiasm, mad talent and diva qualities lead her astray. Steamed that she doesn't get the lead in the school's production ofHello, Dollyand convinced it's because she's fat, Aggie writes a roman à clef musical. It features two girls, the fat one an undisguised Aggie, the thin one suspiciously similar to the girl playing Dolly, Cynthia of the recent boob job. Aggie's friends (techie Suzanne, ever-loyal Elliot and lyricist Cameron) support Aggie's hostility toward Cynthia despite knowing it's unfair: Cynthia's nice and actually deserved the lead because of her singing skill. They mount a major production of Aggie's show that, astonishingly, succeeds. Aggie's almost failing math, Cameron comes out to his parents (and it goes badly) and Aggie resents the parental support that Karl, her father's partner, gives Cameron—Aggie's possessive of her stepfather's attention. The prose, sometimes unpolished and forced but always infused with warmth, brims with musical-theater references. Unlike most arcs about fat teens, this one never equates emotional growth with weight loss; Aggie's refreshingly non-symbolic fatness is just part of her. Like Elphaba in the song that Cameron rewrites, Aggie tries defying gravity—and succeeds, musically, socially and romantically. Given the ratings ofGleeand the emerging popularity of teen lit combining queer themes and musicals, this should be a hit.(Fiction. 13 & up)
pre-publication review - Steven Fendrich
The Fat Lady Sings leads you on a journey of self-acceptance, whether you are a teen or remember what it was like to be one. This book carries its audience of readers to a theatre stage—or perhaps it's a stage of life—and beautifully illustrates how to feel comfortable with yourself, both inside and out.
pre-publication review - Andrew Sellon
A palpable hit! Charlie Lovett's new book is saucy, smart, heartfelt, & very funny. The author must have been a teenage theatre lover himself to have captured the offstage "drama" of the teen theatre world so vividly. Fans of Glee, Wicked, & Hairspray will eat this up. There may need to be a sequel, and perhaps—a musical!

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781597190305
Publisher:
Pearlsong Press
Publication date:
05/01/2011
Pages:
184
Sales rank:
1,169,345
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.42(d)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Charlie Lovett is Writer-in-Residence at Summit School in Winston-Salem, NC. His plays for children have been seen in over 2500 productions in all 50 states and more than 20 foreign countries. He is the founder of the Charlie Lovett Fund for Elementary Drama, which supports theatre productions in elementary schools, and the author of more than a dozen books, including the novels The Program, The Bookman's Tale, and First Impressions.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Fat Lady Sings 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Watts12 More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for ALL readers not just YA. It has a great message about treating everyone with respect no matter how they look or who their parents are.