by The Cottars


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



The Cottars are a prodigiously talented quartet from Cape Breton Island, steeped in the Celtic traditions of the region but also open to other folk and pop influences. Originally consisting of two sets of siblings, the group now includes founding members Ciarán and Fiona MacGillivray but has lost Jimmy and Roseanne MacKenzie, who are replaced by newcomers Claire Pettit (fiddle, vocals) and Bruce Timmins (vocals, guitars). The group's sound has changed little: the playing is still virtuosic (though given rather short shrift on this program, which features only one set each of jigs and reels) and the singing preternaturally sweet, and there is still a slight tendency toward the sentimental and even maudlin. This album's high points are those two instrumental sets (especially the lovely jig set "The Munster Suite"), a somewhat country-flavored version of the Mark Knopfler composition "Fare Thee Well, Northumberland," and a dynamite rendition of the traditional song "The 23rd of June" (also known as "The Jug of Punch") that starts out as a simple unison arrangement and then blossoms into thrillingly tight harmony. Less compelling are the moistly sentimental "Your Love's Return" (which gets a little bit of leeway for being a Stephen Foster tribute, but still) and a version of "Leave Tomorrow 'Til It Comes" that is too quavery and quietly intense by half. A fine album, one that would have been even better with a bit more emphasis on rousing instrumentals and a little less on sentimental ballads.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2010
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661706828
catalogNumber: 617068

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cottars   Primary Artist
Allister MacGillivray   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Jamie Gatti   Electric Bass,Upright Bass
Ciarán MacGillivray   Bouzouki,Guitar,Piano,Accordion,Vocals,Bodhran,Group Member
Beverly MacGillivray   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Fiona MacGillivray   Piano,Vocals,Bodhran,tin whistle,Group Member
Effie Maccormick   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Claire Pettit   Fiddle,Viola,Vocals,Group Member
Buddy "Tommy Peggy" MacDonald   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Bruce Timmins   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Beth Macneil   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Shane Timmins   Electric Bass,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Neil Macphee   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Kenneth Morrison   Vocals,Guest Appearance
John "Jimmy Malcolm" Gillis   Vocals,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Gordon Lightfoot   Composer
Glenn Yarbrough   Composer
Mark Knopfler   Composer
John Welsman   String Arrangements
Julie Henigan   Arranger
Mike Shepherd   Engineer
Allister MacGillivray   Arranger,Producer,Musical Director
Traditional   Composer
Peter Knight   Composer
Ciarán MacGillivray   Arranger,Composer
Fiona MacGillivray   Composer
Kevin Chaisson   Composer
Sarah McQuaid   Arranger
Dan Macdonald   Liner Notes
Claire Pettit   Arranger,Composer
Bruce Timmins   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews