Feelin' Bitchy [Bonus Tracks]

Feelin' Bitchy [Bonus Tracks]

by Millie JacksonMillie Jackson

CD(Expanded / Remastered)

$10.92 $11.99 Save 9% Current price is $10.92, Original price is $11.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Soul fans who don't have a taste for off-color humor have often argued that Millie Jackson should stay away from the racy stuff. They insist that a soulstress as talented as Jackson doesn't need to be raunchy, claiming that her sexually explicit diatribes are an unnecessary distraction. But here's the thing: those diatribes are genuinely funny -- at times, she's downright hilarious. Jackson would still be a great singer even without the R-rated and X-rated monologues, but those monologues are a nice bonus. Not without its share of raunchy humor, this 1977 LP is unlikely to get Dr. Laura's stamp of approval any time soon. But those who don't mind off-color humor will find Feelin' Bitchy to be a first-rate soul album. Jackson provides some hilarious diatribes on "You Created a Monster" and the bluesy "All the Way Lover" (which lambastes women who prefer soap operas over their husbands), and she fares equally well on less explicit material like Hot's "Angel in Your Arms" and Merle Haggard's "If You're Not Back in Love by Monday" (which was a number two country hit for Haggard and a number five R&B hit for Jackson). While Hot's original version of "Angel in Your Arms" was slick R&B/pop and crossed over to adult contemporary audiences, Jackson's gritty remake is hardcore soul. From the explicit to the not so explicit, Feelin' Bitchy is among Jackson's finest albums. [The 2007 edition of the album includes bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/20/2007
Label: Westbound Uk
UPC: 0029667026123
catalogNumber: 242
Rank: 19719

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Millie Jackson   Primary Artist
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Ken Bell   Guitar
Larry Byron   Guitar
Spider Harrison   Vocals
Roger Hawkins   Drums
David Hood   Bass
Jimmy Johnson   Guitar
Tom Roady   Percussion
Brandy   Background Vocals
Jim Henson Project   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Millie Jackson   Producer
George Jackson   Composer
Pete Bishop   Engineer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Mack Emerman   Engineer
Greg Ham   Engineer
Clayton Ivey   Composer
Rob Keyloch   Remixing
Benny Latimore   Composer
George Marino   Engineer
Steve Melton   Engineer
Brad Shapiro   Producer
Sonny Throckmorton   Composer
Leanne Ungar   Engineer
Rafe Van Hoy   Composer
Jim Vitti   Engineer
Ernie Winfrey   Engineer
Terry Woodford   Composer
Ollie Cotton   Engineer
Randy Klein   Composer
Tony Rounce   Liner Notes
Tom Brasfield   Composer
Raymond Moore   Composer
Glenn Martin   Composer

Customer Reviews