Feelin' Good

Feelin' Good

by Nightmares on Wax

CD(Digi-Pak / with Booklet)

$13.82 $15.99 Save 14% Current price is $13.82, Original price is $15.99. You Save 14%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Feelin' Good

The first Nightmares on Wax album in five years is George Evelyn's most organic and band-oriented release. Beside longtime collaborator Robin Taylor-Firth, Evelyn is joined by a roster of seasoned studio veterans: drummer Wolfgang Haffner, bassist Paul Powell, percussionist Andrew "Shovell" Lovell, vocalist Mozez, and string arranger Sebastian Studnitzky. It's not as if the album were recorded with a strictly old-school method, however; a fair portion of the elements sound producer-driven, heavily manipulated. Stylistically, the album is characteristically diverse for a NoW release, with easy listening, reggae, dub, soul, funk, disco, hip-hop, and downtempo all in the bright mix. Amid some well-made but not particularly stimulating material, the more energetic tracks -- the squelching "Now Is the Time" and the echo-soaked throwback dancefloor groove "Tapestry," the latter of which is almost as gritty as a Theo Parrish "ugly edit" -- stick out the most and leave deeper impressions. There's also some decent retro-soul in the seemingly Curtis Mayfield-inspired "Give Thx," which has some structural and melodic likeness to "People Get Ready." Appropriately titled, the album exudes warmth.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2013
Label: Warp Records
UPC: 0801061024123
catalogNumber: 10241
Rank: 94645

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nightmares on Wax   Primary Artist
Nicolas Fiszman   Bass
Paul Powell   Bass
Wolfgang Haffner   Drums,Keyboards
Robin Taylor-Firth   Keyboards
Bernhard Ullrich   Flute,Saxophone
George Evelyn   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
Sebastian Studnitzky   Trumpet,Keyboards
Shovell   Percussion,Vocals
Katie Gray   Vocals
Bruno Muller   Guitar
Earl Tutu   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Mariela Matathia   Violin
Phoenix Pearle   Vocals
Won-Hee Lee   Violin
Marina Warsaw-Fin   Cello
Asaf Maoz   Violin

Technical Credits

Wolfgang Haffner   Composer
Robin Taylor-Firth   Composer
George Evelyn   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,Instrumentation
Sebastian Studnitzky   Composer,String Arrangements
Mali Evelyn   Interlude
Katie Gray   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews