Fellow Travelers

Fellow Travelers

by Shearwater


$13.49 $13.99 Save 4% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Fellow Travelers

Listeners who are unfamiliar with any of the definitive versions of the nine covers that appear on Shearwater's eighth studio outing will be forgiven for thinking that they're listening to Jonathan Meiburg-penned originals. In fact, all ten cuts, including the lone new original, the Sharon Van Etten-assisted "A Wake for the Minotaur," are so steeped in the Austin, Texas-based outfit's signature blend of heady melodrama and evocative, often explosive, mid-sized stadium rock, that they would fit in seamlessly on an extended edition of 2012's Animal Joy. Billed as a tribute to some of the artists that the band has shared the road with over the years, the aptly-named Fellow Travelers relies on material that's far more idiosyncratic than many albums of the same ilk, and if anything, that they are able to pull from a well so deep that it includes both David Thomas Broughton ("Ambiguity") and Coldplay ("Hurts Like Heaven") shows how tenacious the group has been since their 2002 debut. At its best, like on a languid rendering of Wye Oak's "Mary is Mary," a thick and propulsive reading of Xiu Xiu's "I Luv the Valley Oh!!" and an even moodier and meatier version of Folk Implosion's "Natural One," Fellow Travelers makes the listener feel like they snuck in the back door of the club and are bearing witness to one of the coolest soundchecks ever, and while it may not be the follow-up that fans were envisioning, it certainly deserves a slot in every Shearwater enthusiast's collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/25/2013
Label: Sub Pop
UPC: 0098787105025
catalogNumber: 71050
Rank: 205237

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shearwater   Primary Artist
Clinic   Organ,Bass,Drums
Elaine Barber   Harp
Chris Flemmons   Vocals
Jesca Hoop   Background Vocals
Jenn Wasner   Background Vocals
Sharon Van Etten   Vocals
Christiaan Mader   Bass

Technical Credits

Clinic   Effects Programming
Lou Barlow   Composer
Brian Campbell   Composer,Engineer
John Davis   Composer
Brian Eno   Composer
Christopher Martin   Composer
Wally Gagel   Composer
Jamie Stewart   Composer
Jeff Kleinsmith   Art Direction
JM   Engineer,Liner Notes
Guy Berryman   Composer
Jonny Buckland   Composer
Jonathan Meiburg   Composer,Art Direction
Jim Smith   Engineer
Chris Flemmons   Composer
David Thomas Broughton   Composer,Engineer
Annie Clark   Composer
Jesca Hoop   Composer
Jenn Wasner   Engineer
Kahn Selesnick   Artwork
Andrew Stack   Composer
Danny Reisch   Producer,Engineer
Adrian Blackburn   Composer
Jonathan Hartley   Composer
Kelly Upshaw   Engineer
William Champion   Composer
Paul Mortlock   Engineer
Carl Tierney   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews