Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press
The Films of Ingmar Bergman / Edition 1

The Films of Ingmar Bergman / Edition 1

by Jesse KalinJesse Kalin


Current price is , Original price is $24.99. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.


This concise overview of the career of one of the modern masters of world cinema defines Ingmar Bergman's conception of the human condition as a struggle to find meaning in life as it is played out. After examining six existential themes explored repeatedly in Bergman's films—judgment, abandonment, suffering, shame, a visionary picture, and a turning toward or away from others—Jesse Kalin shows how these themes are expressed in eight of his films, including well known favorites such as Wild Strawberries, The Seventh Seal, Smiles of a Summer Night, and Fanny and Alexander. Other important but lesser known films covered include Naked Night, Shame, Cries and Whispers, and Scenes from a Marriage.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521389778
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 10/13/2003
Series: Cambridge Film Classics
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 268
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.59(d)

Table of Contents

1. Introduction: The geography of the soul; Part I. The Films of the Fifties: 2. The primal seen: The Clowns' Evening; 3. The journey: The Seventh Seal and Wild Strawberries; 4. The great dance: Smiles of a Summer Night; Part II: Second Thoughts: 5. A dream play: Shame; 6. The illiterates: Cries and Whispers, Scenes from a Marriage, and the Films of the 1970s; Part III: A Final Look: 7. The little world: Fanny and Alexander; Afterwards: Biographical note; Bergman and existentialism: a brief comment; A note on Woody Allen; Appendix.

Customer Reviews