Finding a Loving God in the Midst of Grief

Finding a Loving God in the Midst of Grief

by Susan M. Erschen


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 21


The loss of a loved one is devastating, and finding our way back to a place of wholeness can seem impossible. "Here is the most important thing I know about grief," writes Sue Erschen. "It's a different journey for each of us." Drawing from her own journey of grief, her experience as the facilitator of a grief recovery and support group, and the stories of saints and ordinary people who have dealt with grief, Sue provides us with an inviting and gentle approach to the natural process of grief. For those facing seasons of grief, this book will help you: Grow closer to God through each season, even the most difficult ones, Draw inspiration from personal testimonies and stories, Pray through each aspect of grief, Find courage to admit the loss and gradually make peace with it, Make practical decision about what to keep and what to part with, Finding a Loving God in the Midst of Grief for grieving people and for those who love them.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781593253462
Publisher: Word Among Us Press, The
Publication date: 04/01/2019
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 542,079
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Susan M. Erschen is the author of God's Guide for Grandparents. She writes frequently on the spirituality of giving, gratitude, living simply, and spending time with God. Her articles have appeared in America, Priest Magazine, Our Sunday Visitor, St. Anthony Messenger, and Today's Catholic Teacher. She volunteers as a facilitator for her parish GriefShare program, as a leader for a Catholic women's faith sharing group, and also as the chair of her parish's Pastoral Council.

Table of Contents

Author's Note v

Chapter 1 Natural but Unique 1

Chapter 2 Ina Fog 10

Chapter 3 Healing Tears 18

Chapter 4 In Communion 25

Chapter 5 Anger and Questions 34

Chapter 6 Help! 43

Chapter 7 Images of God 51

Chapter 8 Courage 59

Chapter 9 At the Cross 67

Chapter 10 Forgiving Our Sorrows 75

Chapter 11 The Gift of Faith 83

Chapter 12 Souls and Saints 91

Chapter 13 Choosing Gratitude 99

Chapter 14 Blessed Are We 107

Chapter 15 Glorious at Last 114

Chapter 16 The Light of Hope 122

Chapter 17 What to Keep 131

Chapter 18 Filling the Hole 139

Chapter 19 The Peace of Acceptance 147

Chapter 20 New Joy 155

Notes 163

Customer Reviews