Fire Down Below: A Novel

Fire Down Below: A Novel

by William Golding


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


The final book in a classic series that began with the Man Booker Prize-winning Rites of Passage

To the Ends of the Earth, William Golding's great sea trilogy, presents the extraordinary story of a warship's troubled journey to Australia in the early 1800s. Told through the pages of Edmund Talbot's journal—with equal measure of wit and disdain—it records the mounting tensions and growing misfortunes aboard the ancient ship.

An instant maritime classic, and one of Golding's finest achievements, the trilogy was adapted into a major BBC/PBS Masterpiece miniseries staring Benedict Cumberbatch, Jared Harris and Sam Neill.

To the Ends of the Earth:

1. Rites of Passage

2. Close Quarters

3. Fire Down Below

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374526382
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 12/01/1999
Series: To the Ends of the Earth Series , #3
Pages: 313
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

William Golding (1911–93) was born in Cornwall, England. His first novel, Lord of the Flies, was published in 1954 and became an international bestseller. In 1983, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Customer Reviews