Fireworks

Fireworks

by Katie Cotugno

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How to Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel—all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062418272
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/11/2017
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 496,626
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Katie Cotugno is the New York Times bestselling author of Top Ten, Fireworks, 99 Days, and How to Love. She studied writing, literature, and publishing at Emerson College and received her MFA in fiction at Lesley University. Katie is a Pushcart Prize nominee whose work has appeared in Iowa Review, Mississippi Review, and Argestes, among others. She lives in Boston with her husband, Tom. www.katiecotugno.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fireworks 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
mindofabookdragon More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read! I didn’t know this is what I wanted when I started it, but it definitely turned out to be just what I needed. Sometimes it’s easy to have so may books that you feel like you *have* to read to stay on top of things, but this was a good break from that. I remember wanting to punch Dana in the face toward the end. She extremely self-destructive, but in the end it all worked out. I think that it’s interesting to see how things worked out for her after everything had gone down. Dana and Olivia seem like they have landed the best friend jack pot, but Olivia can’t get over her own privilege to see the problems that Dana faces sometimes. It’s an interesting dynamic and the whole time throughout the book I knew it was something that would cause a big rift for the two of them. Olivia is a character that I can’t really feel any sympathy for. She was a truly different person once she landed the opportunity for fame, and it changed her. I know that it’s something that she had worked for her entire life, but she failed to recognize Dana’s own struggles while grasping for her dreams. It seemed like she couldn’t get past the fact that it was something she wanted, and if Dana were to rise above her she wouldn’t be able to handle it. This is not the kind of friendship Dana, or anyone for that matter, needs in her life. It’s something that caused a lot of tension as the book carried on, and I think it was something that was well-written about. I really liked Dana’s character growth as a whole. She was a generally pleasant character, but she had her flaws which made her all the more real. It wasn’t an ending I was expecting for her, but her loyalty to others reminded me so much of myself that I couldn’t be too surprised. Overall this was a fun book to read. It made me want to frolick in the sun, but unfortunately it’s wet and rainy here in Michigan. It brought a nice slice of sunshine in my life though. Happy reading, Sophie
arelireads More than 1 year ago
This is my first Katie Cotugno book and I must say it did not disappoint! I am really not into “girly” type of book, but the synopsis of this book just got me; and I’m glad that the synopsis got me hooked because if not, I wouldn’t have been able to discover the wonderful writing of Katie. ❤ ❤ When I started it, I was like: “Ohh, a fast read. Maybe it’s just like any other YA book wherein the story line is as straight as my hair (LOL).” BUT NOOOO! It’s like the book just shoved it in my face that: “Hey! I’m not like any other YA book you’ve read!” While reading it, I did not expect that I would feel happy and then later on become sad or hurt and almost teary-eyed because a certain event happened. Then came the time when I didn’t know what to feel anymore! I also ended up hating this one character because she deserves my hate. For real. I couldn’t believe I just had all the feels for this book while reading it. It’s draining, but I love it. I don’t even know why or how! Y U DO DIS TO ME KATIEEEE If you think this is a happy book…. *evil laugh* Sorry, but I don’t know if this is kind of spoil-ery or not? But, anyway… I just gotta let you know that this is a mix of happiness and sadness. It is a mix of success and failure (at least, that’s what I think). Overall, even though this book kind lifted me up then pulled me down then lifted me back up again just to pull me back down again and again and again and again, I LOVED IT! I highly recommend this to you. It’s a perfect summer-friendship-bring-it-to-the-beach kind of read. *Thank you so much, Harper Collins International, for sending me an advance reader’s copy! This, however, does not affect my opinion about the book.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fireworks was my first book by Cotugno, but it certainly won't be my last. This was exactly the story I'd hoped it would be: a romance I rooted for hard, a realistic friendship in all its highs and lows of taking on new challenges together, and an inside look at the 1990s popstar factory.