×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

First Team
     

First Team

5.0 7
by Tim Green
 

See All Formats & Editions

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But

Overview

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But the coaches have plans of their own, especially for the kids from the wrong side of the tracks, which is exactly where Brock now lives.

As Brock is trying to fit in, his father’s past is catching up to him—and one chance meeting causes everything to come crashing down. Will Brock finally be able to navigate his new life, or will his past force him back on the run?

Editorial Reviews

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“An entertaining novel.”
VOYA, December 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 5) - Susan Allen
In this sequel to New Kid (HarperCollins, 2014), Brock and his father narrowly escape with their lives when the plane they are using to flee his father’s enemies crashes. Because the crash has changed both of their facial features, Brock’s dad decides it is safe for them to settle down. They move to a small town—Calhoun, Ohio. Their rental home is on the “wrong side” of town, which causes problems for Brock. Football is a matter of fierce town pride, and winning is important, but so is where the players live. Brock tries football and finds that he has talent, but his address hurts his chances for the team. As if that is not enough, Brock begins to think he is being followed and starts wondering if his dad’s enemies have located them again. Mak, Brock’s new friend, offers a lot of support, and Laurel adds the hint of a romantic interest. The characters lack believability in a few places, and occasionally the story seems to fall into place too easily—the spy aspect detracts at times. The story is full of football and coaches and middle school dramas, however, and most readers will concentrate on this rather than any shortcomings. This volume is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman. Reviewer: Susan Allen; Ages 11 to 14.
School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 5–8—Picking up right where New Kid (HarperCollins, 2014) left off, the shadowy "bad guys" are chasing Brock and his dad out of town. Another vehicle blocks their escape route and rams them down the side of an embankment. They not only escape unhurt, but also manage to evade the bullets being shot at them. Brock's dad stops their slog through the woods in the pouring rain to check his GPS on his cell phone. They are conveniently close to the runway where the man has parked an airplane. That's when Brock learns that his dad knows how to fly and isn't afraid to play a game of chicken with their assailants, who may be Russians or the "agency." There's plenty of action here, only it's not quite adrenaline-inducing because, while there is menace, there is no bite. The unidentified pursuers are just too inept and Brock's dad is just too lucky. The contrivances become increasingly difficult to believe and are not relegated to the espionage. Readers are expected to believe that the pitching prodigy is also a football prodigy, a quarterback no less. The mentor is the high-school star quarterback son of his dad's love interest. The issue of classism in the football-obsessed town they settle in would be interesting if the coaches were not cardboard stereotypes. A bewildering twist at the end may portend a third book.—Brenda Kahn, Tenakill Middle School, Closter, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
2014-07-16
In this sequel to New Kid (2014), Brock discovers real life isn't all it's cracked up to be. Brock is thrilled when his father announces that it's time for them to settle into a normal life, one in which they don't have to move every few months to escape his father's murderous enemies. But real life turns out to have plenty of problems, too. Brock's natural ability to throw a ball gains him attention from the junior varsity football coach, but the socioeconomic politics of the town dictate that the quarterback positions go to wealthy kids who are related to the coaches. And what about the bad feelings he's been getting about different people in town and the strange cars that look like they could be following him? Are his dad's enemies really fooled? NFL player-turned-author Green delivers a fast-paced, compelling tale that middle-grade readers will find entertaining. The story sometimes feels too convenient for the sake of a tidy plot, and Brock's character occasionally seems a little flat, but readers will probably be caught up in the timeless dramas of boy meets girl and boy wants to play football. An exciting continuation of Brock's adventures on and off the field. (Fiction. 10-13)
ALA Booklist
“This story of friendship, fresh stars, and belonging has appeal that continues far past the end zone.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062208750
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/30/2014
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
833,556
Product dimensions:
6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)
Lexile:
700L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

First Team 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book inspired me to play football
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PERCY ALL THE WAY!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Begins right where new kid leaves off!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Luv yer books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Leo