Five Orchestral Pieces

Five Orchestral Pieces

by Arnold Schoenberg



Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Five Orchestral Pieces by Arnold Schoenberg

A revolutionary force in twentieth-century music, Arnold Schoenberg moved progressively from lush, late Wagnerian chromaticism to a complete break with traditional tonality, making possible previously unimagined methods of composition and combinations of sounds.
This edition of one of his most important orchestral works invites music devotees to retrace the first steps of the revolution he helped initiate. Possessing a soloistic texture and variations in instrumental color defined by Grove's as "chamber music for full orchestra," this work demonstrates the composer's daring explorations in music that renounces motivic connections as well as tonality. The groundbreaking Five Orchestral Pieces (1909) reproduced here from the authoritative C. F. Peters edition, appears with bar-numbered movements.
Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for musicians, music students, and music lovers alike.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486406428
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 01/26/1999
Series: Dover Miniature Music Scores Series
Pages: 64
Product dimensions: 6.42(w) x 8.62(h) x 0.24(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews