Flatt & Scruggs and The Stanley Brothers

Flatt & Scruggs and The Stanley Brothers

by Flatt & Scruggs


$25.58 $28.99 Save 12% Current price is $25.58, Original price is $28.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Flatt & Scruggs and The Stanley Brothers

This combination of sides from bluegrass duos Flatt & Scruggs and the Stanley Brothers is the second of the four-disc offering assembled by Great Britain's JSP imprint, who is famous for its well-compiled and annotated, budget-priced box sets. The first volume dealt with cuts issued by Flatt & Scruggs between 1948 and 1952, while the Stanleys' offerings were assembled from those recorded between 1947 and to 1953. This set picks up with 50 songs by each act. In the case of the former, the recorded discography is from 1952 to 1959 and the latter is between 1955 and 1959. Flatt & Scruggs laid down classics during these years including "Dim Lights, Thick Smoke," "Foggy Mountain Chimes," "Six White Horses," "Give Mother My Crown," "Randy Lynn Rag," "Foggy Mountain Special," and dozens of gospel tunes. Ralph and Carter Stanley were on a run as well, with "Orange Blossom Special," "Angel Band," "Say You'll Take Me Back," "So Blue," "Daybreak in Dixie," "Little Maggie," and, of course, the original version of "I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow," along with a slew of moving country-gospel numbers. Bluegrass aficionados probably have all of this material, but for those who don't, and began their interest in either or both groups with volume one, this second set burns just as hard and just as long; it presents a solid look, rather than a glimpse, of a magical period in country music history and into the development of bluegrass itself. Each CD's booklet gives another chapter in the story, the sound is excellent, and there is complete personnel information listed for music history buffs.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/23/2010
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065712822
catalogNumber: 77128
Rank: 85832


Disc 1

  1. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke
  2. Dear Old Dixie
  3. Reunion In Heaven
  4. Pray For The Boys
  5. I'll Go Steppin' Too
  6. I'd Rather Be Alone
  7. Foggy Mountain Chimes
  8. Someone Took My Place With You
  9. Mother Prays Loud In Her Sleep
  10. That Old Book Of Mine
  11. Your Life Is Like A Flower
  12. Be Ready For Tomorrow May Never Come
  13. Till The End Of The World Rolls Around
  14. You're Not A Drop In The Bucket
  15. Don't This Road Look Rough And Rocky
  16. Foggy Mountain Special
  17. You Can Feel It In Your Soul
  18. Old Fashioned Preacher
  19. Before I Met You
  20. I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open
  21. Randy Lynn Rag
  22. On My Mind
  23. Blue Ridge Cabin Home
  24. Some Old Day
  25. It Won't Be Long

Disc 2

  1. Gone Home
  2. Bubbling In My Soul
  3. Joy Bells
  4. What's Good For You
  5. No Doubt About It
  6. Who Will Sing For Me
  7. Give Mother My Crown
  8. Six White Horses
  9. Shuckin' The Corn
  10. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  11. A Hundred Years From Now
  12. Give Me Flowers While I'm Living
  13. Is There Room For Me?
  14. Let Those Brown Eyes Smile At Me
  15. I Won't Be Hanging Around
  16. I Don't Care Any More
  17. Big Black Train
  18. Mama And Daddy's Little Girl
  19. Crying Alone
  20. A Million Years In Glory
  21. Heaven
  22. Building On Sand
  23. Jesus Savior Pilot Me
  24. Crying My Heart Out Over You
  25. Ground Speed

Disc 3

  1. Memories Of Mother
  2. Could You Love Me (One More Time)
  3. Nobody's Love Is Like Mine
  4. I Just Got Wise
  5. Harbor Of Love
  6. Blue Moon Of Kentucky
  7. Calling From Heaven
  8. Close By
  9. Hard Times
  10. Baby Girl
  11. Say You'll Take Me Back
  12. I Worship You
  13. You're Still On My Mind
  14. I Hear My Savior Calling
  15. Just A Little Talk With Jesus
  16. So Blue
  17. You'd Better Get Right
  18. Tragic Love
  19. Lonesome And Blue
  20. Orange Blossom Special
  21. Clinch Mountain Blues
  22. Will He Wait A Little Longer
  23. Big Tilda
  24. Angel Band
  25. Who Will Call You Sweetheart

Disc 4

  1. The Cry From The Cross
  2. I'm Lost, I'll Never Find The Way
  3. Let Me Walk, Lord, By Your Side
  4. A Lonesome Night
  5. Fling Ding
  6. I'll Never Grow Tired Of You
  7. Loving You Too Well
  8. Daybreak In Dixie
  9. If That's The Way You Feel
  10. A Life Of Sorrow
  11. I'd Rather Be Forgotten
  12. The Flood
  13. No School Bus In Heaven
  14. Maple On The Hill
  15. Little Maggie
  16. Gonna Paint The Town
  17. That Happy Night
  18. Holiday Pickin'
  19. Train 45
  20. She's More To Be Pitied
  21. Love Me Darling Just Tonight
  22. Trust Each Other
  23. How Mountain Girls Can Love
  24. The Memory Of Your Smile
  25. I'm A Man Of Constant Sorrow

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Flatt & Scruggs   Primary Artist
Lester Flatt   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Earl Scruggs   Banjo,Guitar,Baritone (Vocal)
Ralph Stanley   Banjo,Vocals
Chet Atkins   Rhythm Guitar
Benny Martin   Fiddle,Bass (Vocal)
Paul Warren   Fiddle,Bass (Vocal)
Onie Wheeler   String Bass
Lightnin' Chance   Bass
Ray Edenton   Rhythm Guitar
Eddie Hill   Rhythm Guitar
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   String Bass
Bill Napier   Mandolin
Ernie Newton   Bass
George Shuffler   Bass,Mandolin,Vocals
Art Stamper   Fiddle
Carter Stanley   Guitar,Vocals
Howard Watts   String Bass
Robert Chubby Wise   Fiddle
Jack Shook   Rhythm Guitar
Roy Wiggins   Steel Guitar
English P. Jr. "Jake" Tullock   String Bass
Jody Rainwater   String Bass
Elliot   Bass
Doug Morris   Bass
Howard Forrester   Fiddle
Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert   Mandolin
Red Malone   Bass
Ike Inman   String Bass
Ralph Mayo   Fiddle,Vocals
Bob L. Moore   String Bass
Ralph "Joe" Meadows   Fiddle
Curley Lambert   Bass,Mandolin,Vocals
John Ray "Curly" Seckler   Mandolin,Tenor (Vocal)
Jim Williams   Mandolin
Harold Ray Bradley   Rhythm Guitar
Frank "Hylo" Brown   String Bass
Curley King   Bass
Chubby Anthony Wise   Fiddle,Vocals
Burkett H. "Buck" Graves   Dobro
Bill Lowe   Bass,Vocals
Louis T. Innis   Rhythm Guitar

Technical Credits

Pat Harrison   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews