by Flip Phillips Flip Phillips
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 6


Calling this LP a monster album does not only refer to the excellent playing of tenor saxophonist Flip Phillips, pianist Lou Stein, bassist Michael Moore and drummer Butch Miles; the titles of the eight songs all have something to do with monsters of one sort or another. Three standards -- "Satin Takes a Holiday," "Witchcraft" and "Ghost of a Chance" -- are joined by five tunes written by Phillips and/or Stein (Vampire's Dream," "Dracula's Dance," "Ghoul of My Dreams," "Hangman's Noose" and "The Claw"). The music is mostly hard-driving, high-quality mainstream jazz. This highly enjoyable album is long overdue to be reissued on CD.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/10/2020
Label: Ghb Jazz Foundation
UPC: 0762247706328
catalogNumber: 7063
Rank: 152190


  1. Satin Takes a Holiday
  2. Witchcraft
  3. Vampire's Dream
  4. Dracula's Dance
  5. Ghoul of My Dreams
  6. Ghost of a Chance
  7. Hangman's Noose
  8. The Claw
  9. Satin Takes a Holiday
  10. Ghoul of My Dreams
  11. Ghost of a Chance
  12. Hangman's Noose

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Flip Phillips   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Michael Moore   Bass
Lou Stein   Piano
Butch Miles   Drums
Mike Moore   Bass

Technical Credits

Bing Crosby   Composer
Cy Coleman   Composer
Flip Phillips   Composer
Larry Clinton   Composer
Lou Stein   Composer
Dick Baxter   Engineer
Lars Edegran   Executive Producer
Ned Washington   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Scott Yanow   Liner Notes
David Stone Martin   Cover Illustration
Carolyn Leigh   Composer
David Stocker   CD Layout

Customer Reviews