Flying Groove

Flying Groove


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Flying Groove

Released at the same time as Flying Funk, Flying Groove is another anthology compiled by writer Dean Rudland that surveys the jazz/funk/soul stew released by Bluebird's Flying Dutchman subsidiary during the late '60s and early '70s. There really isn't anything to distinguish this disc from its sister release -- there might be a little less emphasis on funk, but it's really just a continuation that offers more in the way of marginalized music that has become influential and further respected decades after release. Countless hip-hop producers have swiped licks from Gil Scott-Heron and David Axelrod records, and those who haven't have at least considered doing so. And it also has to be mentioned that this music has remained vital through dance-club culture -- at least the sect of the culture that has kept one foot in the past. Serving up a total of 14 cuts, Flying Groove includes selections from Gil Evans ("Crosstown Traffic"), Gato Barbieri ("El Pampero"), Tom Scott ("Head Start"), Esther Marrow ("Baby That's What I Need"), and Gil Scott-Heron ("The Revolution Will Not Be Televised"). Like Flying Funk, this is an excellent entry route into the era -- an era that continues to remain somewhat overlooked and undervalued, thanks in no small part to loud jazz purists.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/18/2003
Label: Rca
UPC: 0090266401123
catalogNumber: 64011

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Naná Vasconcelos   Percussion,Berimbau
John Abercrombie   Guitar
Gato Barbieri   Tenor Saxophone
Count Basie   Piano
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Ron Carter   Bass,Electric Bass
Buddy Childers   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Pete Christlieb   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Richard Davis   Bass,Electric Bass
Freddie Green   Guitar
Billy Harper   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Roger Kellaway   Organ,Piano,Celeste,Harpsichord
Hubert Laws   Flute,Saxophone
Pete Levin   Synthesizer,Horn
Tom "Bones" Malone   Synthesizer,Flute,Trombone,Bass Trombone
Shelly Manne   Percussion
Cecil McBee   Bass
Pete Minger   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Oliver Nelson   Conductor,Alto Saxophone
Cecil Payne   Saxophone
Bill Perkins   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Don Randi   Piano
Jerome Richardson   Flute,Alto Saxophone
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Tom Scott   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lonnie Liston Smith   Piano,Electric Piano
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
James Spaulding   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Leon Thomas   Percussion,Vocals
Bobby Bryant   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Howard Johnson   Clarinet,Tuba,Bass Clarinet
Ryo Kawasaki   Guitar
Michael Moore   Bass
Chuck Rainey   Electric Bass
Harold Alexander   Flute,Soprano Saxophone
Wild Bill Davis   Organ
Mike Wofford   Piano,ARP
Mike Deasy   Guitar
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Jim Gordon   Drums
Sue Evans   Conga,Drums
Nathaniel Rosen   Cello
Aarons   Trumpet
Bill Adkins   Saxophone
Bob Ashton   Saxophone
Gary Barone   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Mike Barone   Trombone
Yolande Bavan   Vocals
Max Bennett   Bass
Harry Bluestone   Violin
Willie Bobo   Percussion
Oscar Brashear   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Gene Cipriano   Saxophone
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Paul Cohen   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
George Cohn   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Gary Coleman   Percussion,Vibes
Neal Creque   Electric Piano
Rollice Dale   Viola
Bruce Ditmas   Drums
Chuck Domanico   Bass
Assa Drori   Violin
Steven Galloway   Trombone
James Getzoff   Violin
Anne Goodman   Cello
John Guerin   Drums,Timbales
Roy Haynes   Drums
Bobby Henderson   French Horn
Jon Hendricks   Vocals
Jimmy Hopps   Drums
Jim Horn   Clarinet,Flute,Oboe,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
David Horowitz   Synthesizer,Electric Piano
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Paul Hubinon   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Bill Hughes   Trombone
Burt Jones   Electric Guitar
Harold Jones   Drums
Armand Karpoff   Cello
John Kelson   Flute
Larry Knechtel   Bass
Trevor Koehler   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Richard Landrum   Bongos,Conga
Richard Leith   Trombone
Keith Loving   Guitar
Arthur Maebe   French Horn
Gildo Mahones   Piano
Queen Esther Marrow   Vocals
Lew McCreary   Trombone
Mike Melvoin   Keyboards
Sonny Morgan   Bongos,Conga
Earl Palmer   Drums
Don Pate   Bass
Donald Peake   Guitar
Marvin "Hannibal" Peterson   Trumpet,Vocals
Bobby Plater   Saxophone
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Lou Raderman   Violin
Waymon Reed   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lee Ritenour   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Henry Roth   Violin
David Schwartz   Viola
Gil Scott-Heron   Vocals
Jack Shulman   Violin
Paul Shure   Violin
Milton Thomas   Viola
Dicky Thompson   Guitar
Gerald Vinci   Violin
Mel Wanzo   Trombone
Ernie Watts   Flute
Dick Hyde   Vacuum Cleaner
Jimmie Smith   Drums
Allen DeRienzo   Flugelhorn
Dennis Budimer   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Bobby West   Bass
Jimmy Gordon   Drums
Billy Green   Tenor Saxophone
John B. Williams   Electric Bass
George Bohanon   Trombone
Jeffrey Solow   Cello
David Duke   French Horn
Louis Morell   Guitar
Ernie Tack   Bass Trombone

Technical Credits

John Lee Hooker   Composer
Percy Mayfield   Composer
Kooper   Composer
Gato Barbieri   Composer
Oliver Nelson   Arranger,Composer
Tom Scott   Composer
Leon Thomas   Composer
Harold Alexander   Composer
David Axelrod   Composer
Mike Lipskin   Producer
Sonny Casella   Arranger,Producer
Jules Chaiken   Producer
Gary Coleman   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Barry Feldman   Reissue Producer
Jimi Hendrix   Composer
Pharoah Sanders   Composer
Gil Scott-Heron   Composer
Bob Thiele   Producer
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews