Flying Teapot (Radio Gnome Invisible, Vol. 1)

Flying Teapot (Radio Gnome Invisible, Vol. 1)

by Gong
5.0 1


$9.90 $11.99 Save 17% Current price is $9.9, Original price is $11.99. You Save 17%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Flying Teapot (Radio Gnome Invisible, Vol. 1)

Produced by Giorgio Gomelsky, notable for his work with the Yardbirds, Brian Auger, and Magma, this relatively early Gong project is a great representation of the Daevid Allen-era Gong. Though not as intricate as its follow-up companion piece, Angel's Egg, The Flying Teapot is more of a true prog/space rock outing, where hippie-trippy lyrics and space whispering abound, as evidenced in the opening track, "Radio Gnome Invisible." The following cut, "Flying Teapot," is the sprawling highlight of the album. At times reminiscent of some early Weather Report jams, though not as jazzy, the tune features prominent bass, standout percussion/drums, and space whispering courtesy of Smyth. Improvisational groaning and percussion bring this jam to a close. "Pothead Pixies" is a fun pop (pot?) tune which probably received very little, if any, airplay due to the lyrics, followed by Blake's brief synth interlude, "The Octave Doctors and the Crystal Machine." "Zero the Hero and the Witch's Spell," another lengthy composition, features Malherbe's sax playing, which, at this early point in the Gong evolution, is credited for most of the jazz sounds heard in the music (remember, Pierre Moerlen has yet to join the band). This cut becomes quite heavy near its end before making a clever transition into the final cut, "Witch's Song/I Am Your Pussy." Here you hear Smyth's strange, sexually explicit lyrics, which she embellishes with ethereal voicings and cackling. This, combined with a jazzy sax from Malherbe and some very groovy musical lines near the closing, make for another fun tune.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2007
Label: Snapper Music
UPC: 0803415102525
catalogNumber: 1025
Rank: 994

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gong   Primary Artist
Steve Hillage   Guitar
Daevid Allen   Guitar,Vocals
Tim Blake   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Christian Tritsch   Bass,Guitar
Didier Malherbe   Flute,Saxophone,Wind
Gilli Smyth   Vocals,Voices
Rachid Houari   Drums
Mike Howlett   Bass,Vocals
Francis Moze   Bass
Pierre Moerlen   Drums

Technical Credits

Daevid Allen   Composer
Giorgio Gomelsky   Producer
Pierre Lattes   Producer
Francis Moze   Composer
Jean Luc Young   Executive Producer
John Platt   Liner Notes
Jon "Mojo" Mills   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Flying Teapot (Radio Gnome Invisible, Vol. 1) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago