by Karrin Allyson


$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.



Karrin Allyson gives the concept album a good name. This superb jazz singer has applied structural formats behind some of her most entertaining albums, including the recent Wild for You which reimagined pop songs of the '70s, as well as Ballads, which found Allyson interpreting the songs that John Coltrane originally recorded on his own Ballads album. Footprints follows in that big-idea tradition, and, not surprisingly, it's another winner. Here, classic jazz tunes are refitted with lyrics for this enterprising vocalist to sing. In the process, such gems as Wayne Shorter's "Footprints," Dizzy Gillespie's "Con Alma," Coltrane's "Lazy Bird," and Duke Jordan's "Jordu" are transformed into dazzling vocal features that exhibit Allyson's special stylistic gifts. Allyson is also secure enough to share the spotlight to with other first-rate jazz singers: the legendary Jon Hendricks and the under-recognized Nancy King. Where other singers -- of both sexes --seem to be merely taking on the affects of jazz, Allyson proves, with projects such as this, that she's the real thing, a true jazz singer.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/18/2006
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431229124
catalogNumber: 2291
Rank: 61685

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Karrin Allyson   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Shaker
Nancy King   Vocals
Bruce Barth   Piano,fender rhodes
Jon Hendricks   Vocals,Human Whistle
Nick Phillips   Trumpet
Todd Strait   Drums
Peter Washington   Bass,Upright Bass
Frank Wess   Flute,Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Nat Adderley   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Duke Jordan   Composer
Hank Mobley   Composer
Horace Silver   Composer
Oscar Brown   Composer
Karrin Allyson   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Bruce Barth   Arranger
John Coltrane   Composer
Josiah Gluck   Engineer
Jon Hendricks   Composer
Garry Kief   Management
Nick Phillips   Producer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Paul De Barros   Liner Notes
Chris Caswell   Composer,Liner Notes
Jesse Nichols   Engineer
Danielle Brancazio   Art Direction
David C. Britz   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews