Footprints

Footprints

by Melinda Taliancich Falgoust

Paperback

$9.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Overview

Far across the great wide world, where the sun melts into liquid gold, great Buddhas smile in their fancy temples and towering skyscrapers brush the clouds. And in a tiny house in a tiny town lives a tiny girl who dreams of doing something BIG!

Footprints is an environmental picture book that crosses cultural boundaries and invites readers to follow in young Aiko's footprints as she journeys through the Japanese countryside and discovers the universal concept that the biggest difference can be made by the smallest hands...or feet! Readers who love Shelley Meyer's "Where the Buttercups Grow' and "The Lorax" by Dr. Seuss will delight in making "Footprints" part of their personal library.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780692429099
Publisher: Wagging Tales Press
Publication date: 04/18/2015
Pages: 36
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.09(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Footprints 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Barbara Fanson for Readers' Favorite Footprints is a book with an excellent storyline, which offers a wonderful outlook on life. Author Melinda Taliancich Falgoust has a winning concept about a young girl, Aiko, who wants to leave a mark — or footprint — without staining planet Earth. Aiko feels small in a land with tall skyscrapers that seem to touch the sky. Aiko wants to be noticed but doesn’t want to ruin the planet. Aiko walks with her grandfather and gently reminds people of the damage we are doing by driving, cutting down trees, and using dryers to dry clothes, rather than hanging them on a clothesline. Footprints offers subtle reminders of how we should be more aware of our world and how everything we do impacts the world. Aiko is an intelligent, but compassionate child with the common sense of an adult. I think Aiko’s grandfather says it best: “Sometimes the biggest footprints we can make are those we cannot see at all.” Author Melinda Taliancich Falgoust throws in a few Japanese words so the reader gets the impression that the story takes place in Japan, but she does explain their meaning so the reader isn’t lost. The illustrations include a temple, cherry blossom trees, and a bridge, which look Japanese. The pencil drawings and digital backgrounds help the reader to travel with Aiko and her grandfather through the countryside. We should all read Footprints and try to leave as few footprints as possible for the next generation. If you liked The Lorax by Dr. Seuss, then you will like Footprints.