For Colored Girls [Music From and Inspired By the Original Motion Picture]

For Colored Girls [Music From and Inspired By the Original Motion Picture]


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The For Colored Girls soundtrack is the musical companion to the Tyler Perry film that has been adapted from Ntozake Shange's 1975 Obie & Tony Award-winning play, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf.

The soundtrack features new and unreleased music from such artists as Nina Simone, Gladys Knight, Leona Lewis, Estelle, Laura Izibor, Macy Gray, Janelle Monae, and Lalah Hathaway. The music incorporates the film's many stories of struggle that reflect women's ongoing battle with love, abandonment, and the finding of self. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 11/02/2010
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678892929
catalogNumber: 526227
Rank: 73668

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joshua Bell   Violin
Nathan East   Bass
Harvey Mason   Drums
Aaron Zigman   Piano,Conductor
Michael Skinkus   Hand Drums
Keith Eaddy   Bass
Eric Hall   Saxophone
Derrick Tabb   Snare Drums
Kevin Randolph   Keyboards
Macy Gray   Vocals
Shep Crawford   Keyboards
Caviar   Chant
Kenneth Young   Background Vocals
Adam Klemens   Conductor
Laura Izibor   Piano,Vocals
Lake View Terrace Voices Of Praise   Choir, Chorus
Vonciele Faggette   Background Vocals
Karen Slack   Soprano
Professa Funk   Guitar
Andrea Jones-Sojola   Soprano
Antonio "Da Maestro" Santiago   Keyboards
Kevin Arline   Bass
Alfreda McDaniels   Background Vocals
Daniel Adaggio   Strings

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Nina Simone   Composer
Gladys Knight   Executive Producer
Melissa Manchester   Composer,Instrumentation
Greg Barnhill   Composer
Jerry Hey   Producer
Kenny Mason   Director
Dennis Sands   Engineer
Todd Whitelock   Engineer
Aaron Zigman   Composer,Producer
Montell Jordan   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Chin Injeti   Composer
Randy Jackson   Executive Producer
Craig Kallman   Executive Producer
Jay Weigel   Composer,Producer
Juan Winans   Composer
Kevin Weaver   Executive Producer
Anne Catalino   Engineer
Bosco Mann   Producer
Harvey Mason   Producer
Andrew Hey   Producer,Engineer
Ntozake Shange   Composer
Macy Gray   Composer,Producer
Shep Crawford   Producer,drum programming
Warryn Campbell   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Kenya Ivey   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Tavia Ivey   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Neal Sugarman   Composer
Chris Finney   Engineer
Joanna Cotten   Composer
Jason Schweitzer   Engineer
Joel C. High   Executive Producer
Gabriel Roth   Engineer
Brian Kierulf   Programming,Instrumentation
Jeffrey Bluestein   Composer,Producer
Lisa Winans   Composer
Ryan Kennedy   Engineer
Rebecca Rienks   Assistant Music Supervisor
Steve Salani   Engineer
Anthony "Shep" Crawford   Composer
Kannon "Caviar" Cross   Composer,Producer
Zaki Ibrahim   Composer
Nick Bilardello   Art Direction
Laura Izibor   Composer
William McDowell   Executive Producer
Vit Kral   Engineer
Michael Stern   Engineer
Estelle Swaray   Composer
Stan Malveaux   Engineer
Erika Nuri   Composer
Jimmy "Professa" Russell   Composer,Producer
Uli Pallemanns   Engineer
Tyler Perry   Executive Producer
S. Jones   Composer
Eric Bellinger   Composer
Melissa "Honey" Larochelle   Composer,Producer
Corey Simon   Composer
Cristian DeLano   Engineer
Avriele "Avenue" Crandle   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Antonio "Da Maestro" Santiago   Composer
Kevin Arline   Composer
Bruce Beauchner   Engineer
Ozzie Areu   Executive Producer
Harmony Samuels   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews