For This Knight Only

For This Knight Only

by Barbara Bettis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Sir Roark will do anything to gain land, even beguile an unwilling lady into marriage. He knows she's much better off with a man to take control of her besieged castle, to say nothing of her desirable person. But it isn't long before he discovers that, although her eyes sparkle like sunlight on sea waves, her stubbornness alone could have defeated Saladin.

Lady Alyss is determined to hold her family's castle, protect her people, and preserve her freedom— until her brother's dying wish binds her to a stranger. Still, she'll allow no rugged, over-confident, appealing knight to usurp her authority, even if she must wed him. Especially since he thinks a lady's duties begin and end with directing servants. Alyss has a few surprises for her new all-too-tempting lord.

But when a common enemy threatens everything, Roark and Alyss face a startling revelation: Without love, neither land nor freedom matters.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161315842
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press
Publication date: 03/18/2019
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 158,050
File size: 710 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

For This Knight Only 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
EllenParker 7 months ago
England in early 1194 Young women were seldom able to choose their own husband in 1194. Alyss of Chauvere, however, is determined not to marry the neighboring lord, the one at the gates of her father’s castle. If only her brother and his men would return, the defenses would be strengthened. Sir Roark of Stoddard is one of many knights defending his recently-released-from-exile king. When the party is attacked, he does his part, learning of betrayal from within. Ms. Bettis presents a classic tale with enough twists to keep you turning the pages.
NNLight 9 months ago
With her brother gone to fight with King Richard and her father taken to his death bed, Lady Alyss must protect her people and secure Chauvere Castle. Under a barrage of attacks, she stands tall and wins every battle. She knows she’s defenseless against the power of Sir John once news surfaces about her father’s death. But when Sir Roark shows up suddenly with a death bed plea, she’s unsure what to believe. Did he truly know her brother, Henry, or is this just a ploy to get under her skirts and take possession of her lands? A marriage of convenience it may be, but she’ll never give her heart to Sir Roark or will she discover true strength lies in building a life together with Sir Roark? This story captured my heart from the very first page. Set in a time period where women were property and any man with the strength and fortitude could secure lands and titles, For This Knight Only is a breath of fresh air. A strong heroine with a backbone to rival the greatest knight, a hero searching for a place to call his own. . . it’s a battle of sexes set in medieval times. Breathtaking descriptive narration with historical accuracy right down to cutlery, this is a must-read. The romance, while set against a battle-strewn landscape, melted my heart. The action, suspense and drama combine to make this one of the best medieval romances I’ve read in a very long time. Emotional, gripping with a few twists I didn’t see coming, For This Knight Only will keep you turning the pages to the conclusion. Perfect for fans of Robin Hood and medieval times, For This Knight Only is a gem. Favorite Character/Quote: Lady Alyss. She’s such a strong woman who has had to deal with so much in her young life. She’s spunky, intelligent and I loved her. But as the book went along, she learned valuable lessons about the softer side of being a woman and that true strength lies within the arms of love. My Rating: 5 stars
CaroleBurant57 10 months ago
I absolutely loved this story!!! Once you start reading it, you won't want to put it down, it's that good! Sir Roark shows up at Lady Alyss's castle with a made up story that her brother's dying wish was that Roark would marry Alyss to keep her and her village safe. He's always dreamed of having his own lands and he figures this is an easy way of getting it. He finds out Alyss is no pushover and really has a mind of her own! She will NOT make this easy for him!!! There are so many twists and turns in the story, filled with mystery and suspense....as well as passion! My thanks to the author, Barbara Bettis, for writing such a wonderful story for us to read!! I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley and am voluntarily leaving an honest review.