Forbidden Woman

Forbidden Woman

by Blair Bronwyn


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


GOLD: 2021 eLit Book Awards - Literary Fiction

Finalist: 2021 Indie Book Awards - Social Change

Finalist: 2021 American Fiction Awards - Cross Genre

Honorable Mention: 2021 2021 Readers' Favorite - Literary Fiction

Lucille learns the hard way that she can't trust men. Her missing husband and the San Antonio chief of police are proof of that. But the Great Depression insists that she needs a man - or at least an open wallet - to build her Texas empire and raise the daughter she wishes she didn't have.

Rosemary is that daughter, and she wants her mother's approval more than anything. She's even willing to say goodbye to the love of her life in favor of a man who has a steady job and serves his country honorably. And yet her mother still doesn't approve.

But when Lucille is nearly killed by an angry soldier returning from the war, she must face the prospect of losing the life she's worked so hard to build. Rosemary tries to send Lucille a message of love, while others prod Lucille to take a stand for the American Dream, but is it enough? Lucille wonders if she was meant for something more than a life of separating men from their coin. She might be wrong, but if she changes nothing in her life, she will change nothing in the world.

Forbidden Woman is the first release in Blair's series, A Texas Family Saga, which spans four generations of this South Texas family (the books can be read in any order). This is Blair's debut novel and will captivate readers who value the gritty realities of life exposed in The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls and The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards.

Running Bull is expected to publish in January 2022, and A Warhorse Fallen is slated for late 2022.

◆ Content Notice ◆ The author has gone to great lengths to present this story in an historically accurate fashion, right down to the going rate for a woman's time in any given year. A sad result of historical accuracy, however, is that certain uncivilized words are used in this book, because it is set in South Texas in the mid-twentieth century. This was an era when even Federal and Texas state laws did not hesitate to share their true intent: keep women and people of color out of power. The author has chosen to maintain those words, rather than paint over an ugly part of American history, to demonstrate just how far we've (not) come in the last eighty years.

◆ Trigger Warnings ◆ Violence (physical and sexual), language, sex, gore, hate crimes, racism, war, trauma.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781734577921
Publisher: Tired Hands Media LLC
Publication date: 10/15/2020
Pages: 266
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Blair Bronwyn is a Texas-raised Colorado attorney sharing a full house with her compassionate husband, four strong-willed teenagers, and two sweet dogs. By day, she earns her keep writing legal papers best suited to curing insomnia. By night, she describes the characters and adventures that come in her dreams. Blair does not take her writing lightly. She puts countless hours into researching her stories, so she can portray a fictional event in a realistic manner. This includes such things as double-checking the weather on any given day, viewing speeches by political leaders to understand the concerns of society, and learning the popular make-up styles of the decade. Forbidden Woman, first released in eBook format in September 2020, is Blair's debut novel.

Customer Reviews