by CrackerCracker


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 24


It's been a few years since David Lowery sprinkled his off-kilter blend of intellectual musing and white-trash hooting upon the alt-rock scene, and while Cracker's leader has grown up some in that period, he hasn't lost his flair for creating melodies (and narratives) that make you go "Hmmmmm." Forever isn't as laden with snotty diatribes as previous Cracker offerings, and the playing on songs like the soaring "Brides of Neptune" is a bit more elegant -- thanks, no doubt, to Sparklehorse mainman Mark Linkous, who co-produced the disc. Still, there are plenty of memorable interludes, most notably "Don't Bring Us Down," an anti-love song that could be construed either as a personal kiss-off or a denunciation of today's pop charts. The kitchen-sink eclecticism of tracks like the lilting "Miss Santa Cruz County" and the underwater psych-jam "Guarded by Monkeys" is reminiscent of Lowery's early days in Camper Van Beethoven, as is the somewhat disconnected feel of the album's latter reaches. A special limited-edition version of Forever also contains an 11-song bonus disc, with such concert staples as "Teen Angst" and the band's cover of Status Quo's late-'60s classic "Pictures of Matchstick Men."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 0711297463125
catalogNumber: 849143
Rank: 103018


  1. Brides of Neptune
  2. Shine
  3. Don't Bring Us Down
  4. Guarded by Monkeys
  5. Ain't That Strange
  6. Miss Santa Cruz County
  7. Superfan
  8. Sweet Magdalena of My Misfortune
  9. Merry Christmas Emily
  10. Forever
  11. Shameless
  12. One Fine Day
  13. What You're Missing

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cracker   Primary Artist
John Hickman   Guitar,Percussion,Vox Organ
Frank Funaro   Percussion,Drums,Vox Organ
Victor Krummenacher   Bass
Mark Linkous   Guitar,Keyboards
David Lowery   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Vox Organ
Kenny Margolis   Accordion,Keyboards,Vox Organ
Alan Weatherhead   Guitar
Craig Harmon   Keyboards
Nate Brown   Drums
Chris Eubank   Cello
Brandy Wood   Bass,Vox Organ
Margaret White   Violin
Miguel Urbiztondo   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

John Hickman   Producer
Lee Baker   Contributor
Mark Linkous   Producer,Contributor
David Lowery   Producer,Engineer
John Morand   Producer,Engineer
Schiavone McGee   Contributor
Alan Weatherhead   Engineer
Margaret White   Contributor
Kristen Hott   Contributor
Dennis Soloman   Engineer

Customer Reviews