Forever the Monkees

Forever the Monkees

by The Monkees The Monkees


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


The Monkees were, of course, assembled more for their acting and comedic abilities than any musical ones, and many of their songs were simply disposable vehicles for a huge marketing machine, but the group eventually developed musical aspirations that yielded some strikingly good pop songs, including capable covers of Neil Diamond's "A Little Bit Me, a Little Bit You" and Harry Nilsson's "Cuddly Toy," as well as Michael Nesmith's own "The Girl I Knew Somewhere," the pop gem "Pleasant Valley Sunday," and the pleasantly psychedelic "Porpoise Song," all of which are included in this three-disc collection (at 30 tracks total, this could have easily been a double disc, or with a little editing, a super single disc). Also here is the Monkees' first single, "Last Train to Clarksville," which in retrospect was a pretty good debut (even if they didn't play their own instruments on it). This isn't the perfect introduction to the Monkees, but it does do a decent job of spotlighting a group that was, in hindsight, no worse than -- and in many cases, better than -- what passed for cool and hip at the close of the 1960s.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/26/2016
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227946951
catalogNumber: 554391
Rank: 36236


  1. I'm a Believer
  2. Valleri
  3. You Just May Be the One
  4. That Was Then, This Is Now
  5. (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  6. Pleasant Valley Sunday
  7. Daydream Believer
  8. Last Train to Clarksville
  9. She Makes Me Laugh
  10. A Little Bit Me, a Little Bit You
  11. Porpoise Song (Theme From "Head")
  12. Heart and Soul
  13. Words
  14. Goin' Down

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Monkees   Primary Artist
Neil Diamond   Acoustic Guitar
Michael Nesmith   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Leon Russell   Keyboards
Ken Bloom   Guitar
Buddy Collette   Saxophone
Matt Harris   Background Vocals
Plas Johnson   Saxophone
Lou Blackburn   Trombone
Pete Candoli   Trumpet
Stan Free   Clavinet
Davy Jones   Percussion,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals
Louie Shelton   Guitar
Laurence Juber   Electric Guitar
Micky Dolenz   Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Larry Taylor   Bass
Porcino   Trumpet
Roger Bechirian   Percussion
Dennis Belfield   Bass
Tommy Boyce   Background Vocals
Bud Brisbois   Trumpet
Artie Butler   Organ
Roy Caton   Trumpet
Bill Chadwick   Acoustic Guitar
Mark Christian   Guitar
Jim Cox   Piano
Chip Douglas   Bass,Background Vocals
Michael Egizi   Keyboards
Wayne Erwin   Guitar,Background Vocals
Gene Estes   Tambourine
Virgil Evans   Trumpet
Gorgoni   Guitar
Bobby Hart   Organ,Background Vocals
George Hawkins   Bass
Bill Hood   Saxophone
Jim Horn   Saxophone
Jules Jacob   Brass,Woodwind
Nathan Kaproff   Violin
George Kast   Violin
Danny Kortchmar   Guitar
Paul Leim   Drums
Richard Leith   Bass Trombone
Michael J. Lloyd   Synthesizer,Background Vocals
Herb Lovelle   Drums
John Lowe   Bass Saxophone
Doug Lubahn   Bass
Louis Mauro   Bass
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Lew McCreary   Trombone
Jay Migliori   Saxophone
Ollie Mitchell   Trumpet
Erno Neufeld   Violin
Dean Parks   Bass
John Raines   Percussion,Drums
Uan Rasey   Trumpet
Buddy Salzman   Drums
Ralph Shuckett   Keyboards
Curly Smith   Drums
Don Thomas   Guitar
Russ Titelman   Conductor,Cymbals
Peter Tork   Organ,Banjo,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,Double Bass
Brian Young   Percussion,Drums
Tom Cerone   Tambourine
Gerry McGee   Guitar
Alex Murray   Violin
Bobby Helfer   Trumpet,Bass Clarinet,Piccolo Trumpet
Adam Schlesinger   Bass
Mike Viola   Guitar
Manuel Stevens   Trumpet
Joe Osborne   Bass
Bill Martin   Percussion
Phillip Teele   Bass Trombone
Richard Noel   Trombone
William Hinshaw   Brass,Woodwind
Jimmy Tyrell   Bass
Billy Lewis   Drums
Thomas Scott   Trumpet
Craig Ostbo   Percussion
Eddie Hoh   Percussion,Drums
Dick Nash   Trombone
Mike Ney   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

John Stewart   Composer
Neil Diamond   Composer
Carole King   Composer
Monkees   Producer
Michael Nesmith   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer,Producer
Jack Nitzsche   Arranger
Davy Jones   Composer
Shorty Rogers   Arranger
Micky Dolenz   Composer
Simon Byrne   Composer
Jeff Barry   Arranger,Producer
Roger Bechirian   Arranger,Producer
Tommy Boyce   Composer,Producer
Hank Cicalo   Engineer
Chip Douglas   Producer
Michael Egizi   Programming
Scott Gordon   Engineer
Ray Hall   Engineer
Bobby Hart   Composer,Producer
David Hassinger   Engineer
Douglas Hatfield   Producer
Diane Hildebrand   Composer
Chris Hinshaw   Engineer
Andrew Howell   Composer
Henry Lewy   Engineer
Michael J. Lloyd   Producer
Don McGinnis   Arranger
Peter Tork   Composer
Rivers Cuomo   Composer
Adam Schlesinger   Producer,Engineer
Robert Salcedo   Engineer
Pete Min   Engineer
Jonathan Lane   Art Direction
Cliff Kane   Engineer

Customer Reviews