Forged through Fire: A Reconstructive Surgeon's Story of Survival, Faith, and Healing

Forged through Fire: A Reconstructive Surgeon's Story of Survival, Faith, and Healing

by Mark D. MD McDonough


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, January 25


When Mark McDonough was a teen, a catastrophic fire claimed the lives of his mother and younger brother. It also left Mark with burns on over 65 percent of his body. During a long and painful recovery, his faltering faith in God was strengthened by a remarkable near-death experience. Inspired to pursue a career as a plastic surgeon to help those who suffer as he has, McDonough has overcome numerous other adversities on his journey, including addiction and a stroke. Now he shares his incredible true story of survival and perseverance to bring hope and healing to those dealing with great physical and emotional pain.

Anyone who has suffered or watched a loved one suffer from a personal trauma, disease, or loss that has tested or stolen their faith and exhausted their emotional resources will find real hope in this redemptive story.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780800736545
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/03/2019
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 724,215
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Mark D. McDonough, MD, is a therapist, physician, and plastic and reconstructive surgeon. A graduate of Case Western University School of Medicine and trained in general, burn, and plastic surgery at the University of South Florida and Vanderbilt University, he has served as an adjunct professor in physical therapy and worked with trauma patients at hospitals in Ohio, Tennessee, and Florida, where he later founded his own practice. Married for more than 25 years, he and his wife, Joan, have three grown sons—Connor, Riley, and Toby—who form the popular band Before You Exit. Dr. McDonough lives in Central Florida.

Table of Contents

1 August 3, 1976 9

2 Roots 16

3 Rescue 26

4 Broken 37

5 Water 46

6 Rainbow 60

7 August 13, 1976 67

8 Tree House 79

9 Bonds 86

10 Aftermath 92

11 Progress 103

12 Dysfunction 110

13 Swimming 124

14 Therapy 130

15 Pass 141

16 Faith 153

17 Phoenix 163

18 Choices 173

19 Learning 182

20 Sailing 191

21 Sober 199

22 Desperation 207

23 Romance 219

24 Genesis 230

25 Trust 239

26 Surrender 248

27 Perseverance 256

Acknowledgments 267

Customer Reviews