Forgive Me Not

Forgive Me Not

by Samantha Tonge

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Overview

Forgiveness can be hard to come by… An unputdownable new novel from bestseller Samantha Tonge

How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future...

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788633659
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
Publication date: 09/24/2018
Pages: 300
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.67(d)

About the Author

Samantha Tonge's passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She has travelled widely. When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. Her novel Game of Scones won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. She lives in Manchester and Forgive Me Not is her first novel with Canelo.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Forgive Me Not 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
bookloverfl12 More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness! This book touches on a variety of issues - addiction, mental diseases, family dramatics, and more! As I was reading, my heartstrings were being pulled for Emma so much - I wanted her to reconcile with her family, for her family to open their arms to her, and just allow her to try to make for any lost time. A women's fiction novel for your next family vacation!
Splashesintobooks1 More than 1 year ago
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading romantic comedies by this talented author and was initially unaware of the change in genre portrayed in this emotive and very moving novel but I found it to be an enthralling read. It reflects on events from the past and present concerning Emma who is now facing up to her past and moving on to look to the future. She left home two years ago, leaving her older sister to care for their Mum (who has dementia) and their home, Foxglove Farm. Emma is ready to face up to her past and wants to atone for her behaviour and actions from then but her return doesn’t go as she’d anticipated. By relating events from the past and present, many different issues are shared and explored, developing the readers’ knowledge of some difficult subjects in an easy to relate to manner. Sometimes just saying you are sorry really isn’t enough for many different reasons. Emma’s life journey, learning to take responsibility for her own actions now and from the past, the struggle of accepting just what she might be responsible for and helping others, too, all play important roles in this story. It is a coming of age story with a real twist at the end! I suspect this story will have a lasting impact on my own attitudes and behaviour to others in future and I hope many others will also enjoy – and learn from – this superb story. I requested and was given a copy of this book, via NetGalley. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.
WhisperingStories More than 1 year ago
Emma has returned to her family home at Foxglove Farm, Healdbury, to make amends and apologise for her past behaviour to her older sister Andrea and her mum. However, although she wasn’t expected to be welcomed back with open arms, she certainly wasn’t expecting the scene that she sees before her. Her mum has early onset Alzheimer’s and doesn’t recognise her. Her sister wants her to leave and tells her she isn’t welcome and doesn’t want anything to do either her ever again. Even her ex-boyfriend Bligh tells her to leave. With her family, friends and even the villagers wanting her to go, it takes all of her strength to stay and fight for forgiveness, but not everything is forgivable, could this be the case for Emma? The book is exceptionally poignant and covers some tough subjects such as alcoholism, homelessness, and forgiveness. All were handled with care and thoroughly researched, which shows in the superb, realistic writing. The story moves between the present day and months before Emma’s return home in which she was in Manchester and sleeping rough in the city centre. With Manchester being my hometown it was lovely (even in the circumstances) to see all the areas mentioned, giving me plenty of scope to perfectly visualise the scenes. It was also eye-opening to see just what those sleeping rough in the city go through. ‘Forgive Me Not’, is a new direction in writing for Samantha Tonge, away from her Rom Coms. She may have thought it was a risk heading in a different direction, but it definitely has paid off as this book was an absolute joy to read. I loved every minute of it and congratulate Samantha Tonge on writing a fabulous, heartfelt and insightful, book that will stay with me for a long time.
Hershey07 More than 1 year ago
Samantha Tonge really outdid herself with this book. The words like amazing and incredible I usually use to describe a book I enjoy don’t really fit here. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t a well-written book because it was, and it was a very emotionally moving book. Emma returns home after leaving years ago after alienating not only her family but almost the entire village. She is hoping she can make amends, but she quickly finds out it won’t be as easy as she thought. To make matters worse, her mother doesn’t recognize her. When she was away, she worked very hard to become a better person, and now all the skills she learned will put her to the test. The book was described as a “gritty, heartbreaking novel that will take your breath away.” Those are the perfect words to describe it. Emma is a complicated character...yes, she did some really horrible things. As you read, you will see that she also was dealing with something that exacerbated her issues. She did have consequences. She lost everything she held dear, and she reaches deep down inside to not lose herself again. I really admired her for that. Without spoiling anything, I have to say, this book hit very close to home for me. We recently lost someone close to our family who suffered with what Emma struggled with. Seeing things from Emma’s perspective opened my eyes and made me think. It also made me see the importance of forgiveness. When a writer can move me like that, she has more than done her job!