Swords of Dragonfire: The Knights of Myth Drannor, Book II

Swords of Dragonfire: The Knights of Myth Drannor, Book II

by Ed Greenwood

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Jump into a new adventure by fan-favorite Ed Greenwood!

Florin and his friends have finally made a name for themselves--only to find themselves the pawns of both dark and noble forces in a battle for power. Together, the Swords of Eveningstar must untangle the webs of lies that surround them before the threat to the kingdom eclipses their abilities to defend it.

Swords of Dragonfire is the second title in an exciting new trilogy by best-selling author Ed Greenwood, the creator of the Forgotten Realms setting. This novel is a fast-paced sword and sorcery adventure worthy of a place on your shelves next to Conan and Fafherd and the Gray Mouser.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786961702
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
Publication date: 11/22/2011
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 490,198
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Ed Greenwood, creator of the Forgotten Realms setting, is the best-selling author of hundreds of novels, game products, and articles in the setting. He is also the author of the Band of Four novels published by Tor Books.

From the Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

Forgotten Realms: Swords of Dragonfire (Knights of Myth Drannor #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
BeezerMN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Swords of Dragonfire by Ed Greenwood is the second book of the Knights of Myth Drannor trilogy. The first book, Swords of Eveningstar (Forgotten Realms: The Knights of Myth Drannor, Book 1)was released in 2006 and the third and final bok, The Sword Never Sleeps, will be released in August of 2008. This trilogy is intended to be a prequel for the Knights of Myth Drannor, to give them more `face' time and to better explain how they came together and what some of their early motivations are. Most fans of the forgotten Realms will recognize many characters in this novel, which is both a positive and negative, but I'll explain that later in the review. The plot of this book is rather jumbled at times. This is mostly due to how the book is written and laid out. The main storyline is that the Knights of Myth Drannor are trying to save the royalty of Cormyr (the King, Queen and two princesses, and of course Vangy). Throughout the course of the main plot there are various sub-plots thrown in for good measure. Sub-plots such as internal strife within the Zhents, a love interest between a couple of the main heroes, and trying to discover what really is behind an ancient mystery for a long lost treasure. The plot itself is decent; there really isn't anything new here. It seems all the plot points and `mysteries' in this book have been read countless times before. In fact there were time while I was reading this novel, that the plot felt stale to me. There were moments of it being interesting though. I would say the overall story of this book was better than the first book. The characters of this book are largely the same as from the previous book. As with the first book, I purchased this largely because one of my favorite characters was present, Florin Falconhand. While he is certainly featured in this book, I still don't feel as though I know much more about him than I did before I started this book, and trilogy for that matter. It almost seems as though Mr. Greenwood does not care entirely too much on the concept of character development in this trilogy, rather he just wants to `tell the story'. I think that is one of the major pitfalls of writing a story, in particular, a trilogy about characters that are already established. The reader already has a very good idea of what will happen, and that certain characters have no chance of being killed - because they are present in books set many years after these events. One of my complaints about the previous book is that some of the characters felt as though they were two dimensional and very clichéd, I am disappointed to say that those feelings are still present in this book as well. The only character I was interested in steadily throughout the book was Florin, but that was largely due to my previous readings about him, not from this book. The pacing of this novel does not lend itself to easy reading. The scenes jump from one point of view to another several times throughout a chapter. Just when the reader is grasping what the intent is, the book suddenly jumps to something else. This severely hampers the flow of the book and makes it feel like a jumbled, disjointed buffet of stories instead of one continuous tale. The last fifteen to twenty pages are actually the most succinct and concise parts of the story. That is the only part where there is decent flow and continuity other than that it's hit and miss. It still appears as though Mr. Greenwood has an infinity to use ultra-strong character at points that don't really fit. There is one scene in particular where Vangerdahast is responding to something, suddenly Khelban shows up, then is followed by Elminster showing up. That scene in particular made me feel like Mr. Greenwood was saying, "Oh, I have to get these characters into this book." And then tossed them in one big lump to make sure they were noticed. It felt contrived and useless. While this book `feels' more like a Forgotten Realms book, it still doesn't measure up to the likes of
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago